13
Mar
07

Saskia Walker: The Strangeling

One woman alone holds the power…

…to undo the hundred-year-old curse of an invincible army of dead men who wait to prey upon the living. Maerose, a beautiful, resilient maiden must drive back the evil spirits by mating with a man of faith on the dark night of Samhain at the very gates of the underworld. Her dormant magic can only be unleashed by willing submission to her predestined lover . . . but a mad man aligned with the demonic forces of the underworld threatens to possess her in his place.

The Strangeling reads like a fairytale. A dark, sensual fairytale.

It’s the kind of book you want to read curled up by the fireplace in winter, perhaps with a nice cup of hot chocolate in your hand.

I found that the second half of the book was better than the first half, largely because there is some degree to which you have to suspend belief, but I think it’s very much worth reading through to the end.

FWIW, it was easy for me to suspend belief because Saskia’s voice works very well for me. I will be getting more of her books.

This rates 4 out of 5.


4 Responses to “Saskia Walker: The Strangeling”


  1. March 13, 2007 at 9:47 am

    Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review my book, May. It’s very much appreciated. So glad you enjoyed the read! Latest news — it is now available, hurray! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. March 13, 2007 at 9:51 am

    May – I love Saskia’s writings and didn’t realize she was coming out with something in fantasy. Very eager to lay my hands on this one so thanks for the heads up. And that cover art! Holy Moly – that’s stunning!

  3. March 13, 2007 at 11:03 am

    I’ve enjoyed both books I’ve picked up from Juno. The Strangeling is next on my list!!

  4. March 13, 2007 at 1:58 pm

    You’re welcome, Saskia. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Rhian, you’ll enjoy it!

    Joely, I hope my recommend works better this time, LOL!


Leave a comment