01
Mar
08

6 Questions with Mark Henry

1. On a scale of one to ten, rank your current level of insanity–where ten is belongs-in-lunatic-asylum insane–and tell us why.

I’m easily down to a 7, since book 2 is off to the editor. Normally, I’d be freaking out but my betas and my agent assure me the book is as fun and funny as the first one. Otherwise, I’d be running up and down the street screaming like an idiot, in between bouts of hitting the refresh key on my email program. Has he read it yet? Has he? Has he?

Just asking.

2. There are quite a few female writers who write in male first person POV, but rather fewer males who write in first person female points of view, I think. Any thoughts on the matter?

I get this question a lot and I’m not certain I have a good answer. It’s probably related to my work as a psychotherapist. The majority of my clients were women and after twelve years and countless hours of reading body language, facial expression and speech patterns, it just became second nature, I guess.

3. In contrast to the Amanda Feral series, which is written in first person, your other work-in-progress has a male protagonist and is in multiple third points of view. A hard switch, or was that just the way it had to be?

This is another tough one to answer without giving away a major plot point. I should probably start by letting your readers know that The Dark Rites of Joe Barkley is another urban fantasy series , this one about an impotent incubus, his missing other half and an Australian hooker with a limp. Suffice it to say, the demon protagonist in Joe Barkley is of two minds, so it had to be third. I just couldn’t figure out a way to to consolidate the two in a first person format. I tried. It didn’t work and I’m not going to say it’s been an easy switch, either. I’m much more comfortable in first person. It’s like acting. Particularly in Happy Hour where the format is a fictional memoir.

4. Both of us live in places where it (supposedly) rains all the time. Any tips and tricks to cope with the weather? And how do zombies deal?

Just go with it. I don’t even own an umbrella, though I do have a rubber slicker (does that sound dirty?). Zombies, on the other
hand–particularly skin-care obsessed sentient zombies–prefer huge golf umbrellas. Mortuary grade concealer streaks and is difficult to apply in the back of a cab.

5. Is it the rain that makes Seattle grow hot urban fantasy writers quickly?

Well, first, thank you. It’s rare for people to pick up on my “hotness”, particularly from such a distance. As for why Seattle is
such a hotbed of urban fantasy, I suppose it could be the rain. It keeps us all inside and reading. Writers are usually readers, so we have a disproportionate population up here. It’s also pretty dark most of the time and despite the travelogues, Seattle is not a particularly clean city. There’s a reason our primary contribution to music was called grunge. Throw all that into a blender with a handful of tech geeks found roaming outside the Microsoft headquarters and you’ve got yourself an area primed for this genre. Or at least that’s the conclusion I drew, just now. Ask tomorrow for a different answer.

6. Quite frankly, I typically avoid comedic books of every kind because most humor falls flat for me. Do you think comedy, as a genre, is especially subjective?

That scares me but…yeah, absolutely. Comedy is hugely subjective. I find John Waters to be absolutely hysterical, while a friend of mine just simply shakes his head. Doesn’t get it. Who’s right? Well, me, obviously. I’ve sat through movies where the theater erupted in laughter over some old comic standby, I thought was tired as hell, and I’m sitting there stone faced. In fact, any film ending in the word “movie” (Date Movie, Epic Movie) is likely to cause me to open a vein. Yet, I bet there were a ton of people that saw the trailer for Meet the Spartans and thought, that movie’s going to be fucking hilarious. I hope they enjoyed themselves, too. I doubt it, but I hope they did.

Mark Henry debuts with Happy Hour of the Damned, to be followed by Road Trip Of The Living Dead.

Want some Happy Hours (with a book)? Well Mark’s giving away a signed copy of Happy Hour of the Damned, so tell us where you’d have your perfect Happy Hour, and what you’d be drinking. 😉

0 Responses to “6 Questions with Mark Henry”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

