01
Oct
07

Extracting Demon’s Kiss by Eve Silver

The Compact of Sorcerers, a brotherhood sworn to guard the wall between the human world and the demon realm, have relied only on one another for centuries. But now there’s a traitor in their midst…
Struggling medical student Clea Masters knows she’s unique. Ever since her parents’ death, she’s been kept safe by an inexplicable force inside her that knocks back any threat. But when a demon attacks her, Clea is launched into a dangerous world she never knew existed. Her only ally is a lethal, seductive man who arouses a hunger stronger than anything she has ever imagined…

Compact of Sorcerers member Ciarran D’Arbois will not let harm befall Clea. In her, he sees a strength he admires and a body he longs to caress. Yet demons are determined to break down the portal Ciarran has sworn to protect, using Clea as their key. Now as a rogue sorcerer leads the enemy ever closer, Ciarran and Clea have only one hope. Both must surrender to their darkest passions–and unleash their most dangerous, untested deisres.

DEMON’S KISS–Which is more deadly, his passion or his power?

And you could win a signed copy of this book! Comment! Just how badly do you want this book? ;) 

Moving so fast it made her gasp, Ciarran rose and came to stand in front of her, his muscled body towering over her as he closed his hand around Clea’s upper arm and drew her to her feet. A jolt of excitement and electricity sizzled through her, leaving her breath coming in short, sharp huffs through her parted lips.

Christe,” he said, his eyes dark and hot. Heavy-lidded.

He dragged her up against his solid body, heat and power swirling around them like a storm. A thrill shot along her veins, reckless exhilaration that burned away common sense and reason. All she wanted was his kiss, the taste of him, rich and warm on her tongue.

Catching her chin between his gloved fingers, he tipped her face and brought his mouth to hers, a light brush of his lips, and then his tongue touched her, making her wet. Clea arched into him, a whimper of pure feminine pleasure pouring from her as he pushed inside and kissed her deeply, lips and tongue and teeth, a little rough, a little urgent, and so hot she felt singed. He was inside her, the luscious velvety stroke of his tongue, sliding into her, tasting her.

Oh, God, his mouth. The way he moved it on hers, the heat of it, the carnal pleasure.

She sucked him deeper, her fingers twining in the long silky strands of his hair, and she was half crazy with wanting him, a burning hunger gliding through her, pooling between her thighs into an ache so strong it bordered on pain.

Dimly, she was aware of his light, his power, and hers, that thing inside her, coiling up, weaving from her into him, and him into her, joining them, a sharing as sensual as their kiss. And then she felt something else, a slow hiss of menace, something dark, something dangerous, slithering through him, a whisper of movement like a shark in still waters. Breaking the connection, she jerked back, eyes wide, and clamped her fingers around the chair back, certain she would collapse but for its solid support.

Chest heaving, she stared at him in confusion.

“What—” She couldn’t ask, didn’t know what to ask.

He looked down at her, eyes hard and bright, his breath coming harsh and fast. Swallowing, he backed up a step, his gaze shifting to his leather-gloved hand as he turned it slowly palm up, then palm down.

Power arced between them, and then he pulled it back, leashing his magic. She knew it, sensed it, felt him slamming a door against her.

“Perhaps you asked the wrong question, Clea,” he said, his voice rough. “You asked what I am.” His gorgeous face grew deadly earnest, and his eyes, his beautiful, long lashed, iridescent eyes watched her with a wary respect. “The better question might be, what exactly are you?”

I know I want to read this. How about you? 

18 Responses to “Extracting Demon’s Kiss by Eve Silver”


  1. October 1, 2007 at 8:52 pm

    The first thing that catched my eye about this book (apart from the super hot cover!) was his – Ciarran. It’s Irish, I’m fairly certain and I LOVE Irish names. Although when I looked it up it was Ciaran with one r.

    “Derived from Irish ciar meaning “black” combined with a diminutive suffix. This was the name of two Irish saints: Saint Ciarán the Elder, the patron of the Kingdom of Munster, and Saint Ciarán of Clonmacnoise, the founder of a monastery in the 6th century.”

    Love that name! I want that book badly. I’d do anything. Actually, scratch that. Last time I said that, I got in real trouble. ;)

  2. October 1, 2007 at 9:24 pm

    Wendy, you’re absolutely right about the origin of the name. Some references say it refers to “black-haired”, while others simply refer to the origin as “black”, and I chose this name for this hero because, though he has fair coloring, he fights the blackness in his soul.

    Eve

  3. October 1, 2007 at 10:39 pm

    Ooo, so you chose that name on purpose! I also found Kieran means black, too. Both names are lovely.

  4. 4 cathy M
    October 1, 2007 at 11:01 pm

    Great excerpt, Eve. Paranormal, sorcerers, magic and an Irish hottie, wow, can’t wait to read it. Love that it is the start of a series.

  5. October 2, 2007 at 1:12 am

    I’ve been impressed with Eve’s other books and am looking forward to reading this one.

  6. 6 Kim
    October 2, 2007 at 1:33 am

    Wow…my door is open. I want him to come to my house. Love that excerpt!

  7. 7 Sue A.
    October 2, 2007 at 2:20 am

    I’m already under Ciarran’s spell. That was the perfect excerpt to get our attention. And that was some kiss! Yum!

  8. October 2, 2007 at 2:34 am

    This book sounds interesting. I’ve had it on my radar ever since I bought DRIVEN.

  9. 9 Diane
    October 2, 2007 at 4:55 pm

    Wow, I’m a cover freak and this one just grabbed me off my seat. Did you hire the entire Arts Department for your cover. ‘Coz it’s so HAWT and SEXY!

    leannesse [at] yahoo.com

  10. 10 Crystal B.
    October 2, 2007 at 5:14 pm

    Great excerpt. I love the cover. :)

  11. 11 Darla
    October 2, 2007 at 8:04 pm

    Just how bad do I want it…bad enough that I will shamelessly beg for it!

    Pretty pretty please with Ciarran on top (no sugar needed)! I just know I’ll just fade away if I don’t get!

    The excerpt is to die for…I’m going to buy the book even if I win it so I can give a copy to my best friend!

  12. 12 Teresa W.
    October 2, 2007 at 8:40 pm

    This is my favorite genre to read and I’m looking forward to this book. Sounds Great!

  13. October 2, 2007 at 9:11 pm

    Thanks for the enthusiasm, everyone! You are making my day :)

    Eve

  14. 14 Cherie J
    October 2, 2007 at 9:47 pm

    Awesome cover! I love the plot as well! I want it bad enough that I am willing to beg. My birthday is October 8th so this would make a great birthday gift. Hint. Hint. Was that shameless enough? :-)

  15. 16 Gareth
    October 3, 2007 at 11:44 am

    Wow, Ive always wondered why people use pseudonyms but this book has made me wonder which kiss is the deeper, the kiss of the rose or the kiss of the demon and which bites back the worse. I love the look of this and feel like a newbie with only recently arriving at the genre.

    As to how badly I want this book, as they say, I’d probably jump straight in with both feet. Hell, Im game.

  16. October 3, 2007 at 3:59 pm

    Gareth, I use the Eve Kenin pseudonym for my speculative romance (DRIVEN) because of business reasons, but mainly because that sub-genre is so “out-there” and different.

    Eve

  17. October 17, 2007 at 10:41 pm

    Now THAT is one hell of an excerpt! I have to go buy the book now…


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

