12
Jun
07

Beth Williamson does Shannon’s Cowboys: Pt. 1 of the Cowboy Invasion

Hmm…I’m quite sure I don’t think that’s the way I meant for it to come out, but I can’t think of a better title.

Beth Williamson is the author of another historical western series, the Malloys. The first book of the series is The Bounty, and the seventh, The Legacy, will be out later this month.

Shannon Stacey, as you already know by now, is celebrating her debut Western romance release, Taming Eliza Jane.

And when two Western authors get together, they get into a brawl….

Shannon: I don’t know why, but his role as Billy the Kid in Young Guns rocks my world. The entire cast was good, but Emilio stole the show.

Beth: Emilio has an intensity that many men his age didn’t have when he did Young Guns. He reminds me a lot of his father in that way. Not my ultimate cowboy, but I think he did an awesome job in YG.

Shannon: I am NOT a Kevin Costner fan, but he played Charley Waite in Open Range as a quiet, awkward, but determined and bad-ass cowboy who makes my heart pitter-patter. And when he looks up her dishes in the catalogue…*swoon*

Beth: Ooooh, Kevin. Open Range is one of my favorite movies – I even have it on DVD. I love the scene where he cleans up the mud in the doctor’s house and puts the clumps under the rug. LOL! Really though, the shoot out at the end, I am absolutely mesmerized by it. Good choice.

Shannon: I am so totally cheating because Firefly is a space western, but the character of Malcolm Reynolds makes my toes curl. I’d like to take him home for a little giddy-up.

Beth: Cap’n Tightpants! I love, love, love Firefly! When he straps on that gun and says “I aim to misbehave.” OMG, that’s a man I love to see wearing a six shooter. *fanning self* And the episode where he was nekkid? *runs off to pop in Firefly DVD*
It was supposed to be a brawl dammit! Maybe even a gunfight! It’s turned into a lovefest, of all things…

Sigh. Maybe in Pt. 2, which will be posted on June 26th, so come back for that!

In the meantime, tell us what you think of Shannon‘s choices. You could win a copy of Shannon‘s Taming Eliza Jane (e-copy) or Adrenaline (print).

11 Responses to “Beth Williamson does Shannon’s Cowboys: Pt. 1 of the Cowboy Invasion”


  1. 1 Kim
    June 12, 2007 at 11:03 am

    Good choices! Kevin’s at the top of my list.

  2. June 12, 2007 at 12:27 pm

    Next time I’ll be sure to come with my six-guns strapped on. Shannon is a cool chick, but honestly, Emilio Estevez? C’mon. I still think of him as the jock in Breakfast Club.
    I think I was too nice in my original comments. >:)

  3. 3 Crystal B.
    June 12, 2007 at 1:37 pm

    Good choices. I thought Kevin Costner was great in Open Range. I also like Tom Selleck as a cowboy.

  4. 4 Deb
    June 12, 2007 at 1:40 pm

    Hey, I see the spirs are already coming out;) I have to say I am going to have to get Shannon’s cowboy book’s. I have read all Beth’s and let me tell you they can heat up the saddle .

  5. 5 Shan
    June 12, 2007 at 2:31 pm

    We went with on-screen cowboys, but I’m with Deb—if we’d gone with book cowboys, we would have had to extend the list to fit all those Malloy boys. *fans self*

    I know, I know. Emilio Estevez should be the last guy on a list of hot cowboys, but there’s just something about him in Young Guns.

    We’ll just wait and see how your #3 cowboy fares, Beth. *ggg* I won’t give it away, but…we’ll see. 🙂

  6. 6 Stephanie
    June 12, 2007 at 3:33 pm

    I love cowboys!!!All kinds!! The Malcom Reynolds character was very hot!!Something about his voice does it for me!!and the rest ain’t bad either!!LOL!!

  7. 7 Deb
    June 12, 2007 at 6:00 pm

    Oh yeah I have a few nice yummy cowboys in mind,from the big screen..How about Jon bon jovi he had a small roll in Young Guns 2. Then there is Kiefer Sutherland.

  8. June 13, 2007 at 1:18 am

    Oooh, Bon Jovi’s always hot! And Keifer was okay in Young Guns, but he’s damn hot as Jack Bauer. He’s improving with age. (Unlike 24’s writers *g*)

  9. 9 Cathie
    June 13, 2007 at 8:43 am

    Thats the first time i’m seeing Malcolm Reynolds and indeed he is a great looking cowboy Shannon 🙂 I didn’t see Young Guns so I don’t know the actors there. I shall check this one out. I haven’t seen really much with movies, but I do remember recently seeing OUTSIDER with Timothy Daily. This was a wonderful western romance movie. (Based on Penelope Williamson’s book). I too watch Gunsmoke on TV Land on the weekends! I don’t know the actors name, but its the Sherriff Matt that the show centers around. I so enjoy these westerns and its so neat they now close caption Gunsmoke 🙂

  10. 10 Cathie
    June 13, 2007 at 8:47 am

    Oh one more, LOL. My hubby knows how much I enjoy westerns, cowboys (gee, how much he puts up with me, LOL) But a few weeks ago he taped Cowboy Way with Woody Harrelson and it was hilarious! I recommend this one too. He looked great as a cowboy. His bottom too 😀

  11. 11 Amy S.
    June 13, 2007 at 1:51 pm

    Great choices!


Leave a Reply

