07
Jun
07

Summer Devon: Invisible Touch

Bonnie’s been cursed. The moment she finds a man attractive, he can’t see or hear her. The idiot who put the curse on her threatens to make it permanent unless she agrees to follow his boss, a man she finds irresistible. At first Jared thinks he’s going crazy. He knows he’s embracing a delicious female but he doesn’t know if the invisible being is an actual woman or ghost. When things heat up between Jared and Bonnie, they find a way to communicate. Now they have to figure out how to thwart Jared’s enemy or Jared will never get a good look at the woman he’s felt. . . all over.

I just cannot convince myself that a woman would be desperate enough to go down on a man who can’t see and whom she didn’t know before she became invisible to him.

I kept thinking, “He could have AIDS! STDs!”

The second half was better, and would probably be great if you could get past the above.

We get little hints about magic and deeper worldbuilding, and I think I want to read the next book.

Devon (aka Kate Rothwell) has great dialogue, both internal and between characters, and that is where Invisible Touch shines.

So, believe it or not, I liked the historical Learning Charity better than Invisible Touch. If you want to pick up a Summer Devon book, I’d recommend Learning Charity, not Invisible Touch.

This rates 2.5 out of 5.

PS The author sent me the book.

4 Responses to “Summer Devon: Invisible Touch”


  1. June 8, 2007 at 9:45 pm

    [rubbing hands in rosin]
    What the HELL kind of a REVIEW is THIS? HUH? 2.5?
    When that hack MelJean B, whom EVERYONE LOVES (yeah, me too. Damn that book is good.) gets a 5 out of 5 from you?

    Did it ever occur to you that maybe this revie–YOUR review–will keep someone from buying the book and I wouldn’t get the money from that sale and thus we would only be able to afford medium instead of large pizzas for dinner one night? Did it ever occur to you that you might be snatching the food from my little boys’ mouths?

    (is that enough vitriol for you to work with, you think? Let’s put some passion into this.)

  2. June 8, 2007 at 9:50 pm

    oh and it’s my anniversary. YOU ruined my anniversary.

    all right, all right, maybe the dumb school picnic I have to work at did that.

  3. June 8, 2007 at 10:20 pm

    Why, how dare you come on my blog and ask me this question? When you yourself gave me the book to review?

    And why should I care that your kids are starving because there’s not enough pizza? My eyes bled and my head hurt reading your book!

    As for your anniversary, don’t you have anything better to do than google yourself?

    LOL.

  4. June 9, 2007 at 2:27 am

    Googling myself is the only way I’d ever find this kind of tripe because I sure wouldn’t go look . . . . Damn. I’ve run out of steam.

    I spent a lot of the evening telling kids to stop climbing the walls of a moonbounce. I used up every ounce of aggression.


Leave a Reply

