01
Jun
07

6 Questions with Amie Stuart

Amie is one of the many authors I’ve been cyber-introduced to on Jordan Summers’s blog.

I have never met her in person, and maybe I never will, but I know her to be a funny-as-hell lady with a big heart.

And if you think women with smarts are sexy? Amie Stuart, she is SMOKING!!!

1. On a scale of one to ten, rank your current level of insanity–where ten is belongs-in-lunatic-asylum insane–and tell us why.

HA! Single mom, full time job, two kids (at least they’re boys but I’m seriously questioning whether that’s better since I got saddled with one male diva), writing (and all *that* entails), RWA chapter officer responsibilities, a house (what was I thinking?) and three cats. It’s at least a ten.

Don’t get me wrong, everyone’s got a full plate and everyone’s got their stuff to deal with—I’m so not whining. I’m probably happier than I’ve ever been (but no less crazy)

2. Amie Stuart and Celia Stuart. Which one is the one on medication, and which one rates a ten on the above scale?

Celia rates the ten. Amie should be medicated and has been *g* Seriously, the name change, at first it was fun just being able to take any name I wanted and make it my own. Then I sold to NY and I got to thinking about longevity and what I wanted to see on a book cover ten years from now.

3. In Hands On, all three of the heroines work blue-collar jobs. Are you drawing from your own work experience?

No way! I hate getting grubby, but I have been known to put up a light fixture and I know how to hook up my cable and DVD box. But I come from a family of blue collar men. My dad was a mechanic for years until he retired, and my brother owned his own garage. So I definitely have a blue collar background even if it’s indirectly.

4. Would you give up coffee? *g*

LOL no way! I gave up caffeine! Had to—doctor’s orders. Also caffeine inhibits the absorption of calcium—or something like that. Coffee…I like the herbal stuff but I mix it with decaf. That morning coffee experience is totally psychological even without the caffeine jolt.

5. Is it difficult to write romance in a house with two boys in it? All that testosterone…and I don’t mean it in a good way!

Not really. They’re pretty self-sufficient AND they go to their dad’s every other weekend so I get time away from them to recharge and write without them around. That doesn’t stop them from making me referee a fight every hour or so, or issuing a threat/bribe to get some writing time on the weekends they’re home though. Despite the typical 13 YO attitude, my oldest is a hoot—we’re really good friends as long as a discussion about his grades isn’t in the works, and my baby is my baby. I think you just have to be determined not to let them drive you nuts and you know, I keep telling myself it won’t be that long till they go to college. I need to enjoy them.

6. And because you’re a Southern Fried Chicken Chica, how much do you love Southern Fried Chicken?

I ADORE southern fried chicken, and mashed potatoes, and cornbread *drool* and sweet tea.

I used to live in this small town in N. Texas and there was this restaurant (Ok it was the ONLY restaurant in town besides Dairy Queen) and they had the best food. The only thing better is chicken fried steak. My mom was a Yankee, so I learned to cook southern from a friend of mine’s mom.

Amie Stuart blogs by herself, with the Southern Fried Chicas and is a member of new group blog Naughty & Spice. Her current release is Hands On, to be followed by Kink in the Built anthology in August.

And because she’s cool and generous and all things nice (and I sucked up too *ggg*), she’s doing a giveaway! Comment here and on the Hands On review to win a signed copy of Hands On. Contest ends in three days, and everybody can enter, even if you’ve won something here in the past.

Thanks Amie!

16 Responses to “6 Questions with Amie Stuart”


  1. 1 cb
    June 2, 2007 at 2:11 am

    OMG, did y’all HAVE to talk about southern food? This Texan misses her Granny’s cookin’. *sigh*
    Good interview. 🙂

  2. 2 Little Lamb Lost
    June 2, 2007 at 2:49 am

    Hat is off to you with your full plate. I am a mother of 2 and the reason that I am a mother of 2 is that I would not have survived being the mother of 3. ‘Course, I have one of each.

  3. 3 Kim
    June 2, 2007 at 5:01 am

    Single mom…two boys…full time job, Wow! Sending you a cyber soak in a hot tub with a hot waiter there to serve your every need. Enjoyed reading your interview.

  4. June 2, 2007 at 2:00 pm

    Carol don’t feel bad. I miss that small town diner more than you’ll know! LOL

    Lamb….I’m not sure if two boys are better or worse than one of each but I hear ya…..3 would have been the death of me! LOL

    Kim…thanks for the tub. I needed it 😀

  5. June 3, 2007 at 10:14 pm

    Amie, my hat is off to you. I don’t know how you keep all those plates spinning.

  6. June 3, 2007 at 11:51 pm

    LOL Karin sometimes I think I should still be medicated!

  7. 7 Crystal B.
    June 4, 2007 at 2:22 pm

    Great interview.

  8. 8 Jennifer L.
    June 4, 2007 at 3:18 pm

    I enjoyed your interview and am looking forward to reading Hands On. Sweet Tea-YUUUM! Nectar of the gods!

  9. 9 Alex
    June 4, 2007 at 6:01 pm

    I didn’t knew this author but I really trust a good friend of mine who always give me the best book recommendations and now, after reading this interview, I’m even more curious about “Hands On”.
    Thanks Amie Stuart and Milady Insanity!
    Alex

  10. June 5, 2007 at 2:23 pm

    Thanks everyone for stopping by. I’m blushing again.

    Jennifer INDEED it is!!!!!!! 😀

  11. June 5, 2007 at 2:48 pm

    As the mother of one boy and one girl, let me give you some hope. My son was more work when he was little but less work when he was a teenager.

    And if your plate is full, at least the menu sounds wonderful!

  12. June 6, 2007 at 11:33 pm

    *sigh* Karen one’s a preteen and one’s a teenager…..just barely. I hope it gets easier LOL


Leave a Reply

