21
Feb
07

Laura Resnick: Disappearing Nightly

I’m not a heroine–I just play one. Along with psychotics, vamps, housewives and hookers. As my agent is fond of pointing out, there are more actors in New York than there are people in most other cities. Translation: beggars can’t be choosers.This explains how I wound up prancing around stage half naked the night Golly Gee–the female lead in the off-Broadway show “Sorceror!”–disappeared into thin air. Literally.Now other performers are also vanishing, and a mysterious stranger is warning me: There is evil among us.But the producers want me to take over Golly’s part.

Looks as if I’m going to need a little magical help if I want to keep my starring role….

This is the first book in Laura Resnick’s Esther Diamond “Manhattan Magic” series.

I liked the set-up, I liked the worldbuilding, and I liked Esther.

But she collects characters. The book starts with just her, then she collects the detective who’s a potential love interest, the magician who helps save the day, the people involved with the other disappearances… I mean, I know this is my personal preference–I like smaller casts as a rule–and it’s not that Ms. Resnick did a bad job of characterization.

I loved Lopez though. There’s a great story about him and his brothers, but you’ll have to read the book for that.

I would have given this book a better grade, because on craft alone it does deserve that better grade, but it was ‘thin’ for me. Not as fulfilling a read as I wanted.

This rates 3 out of 5.

0 Responses to “Laura Resnick: Disappearing Nightly”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

