11
May
06

Rob Thurman: Nightlife

There are a lot of ways I could put this, but the fact is that this book just didn't work for me.

I was looking forward to this book. It is a PBW recommend after all.

I do see why she loved this book. The characterization is pitch perfect, the atmosphere darkly drawn and everything ties together in one neat package.

Frankly, if somebody out there thinks there's anything wrong with the book craft-wise, I'd tell you that that somebody is a nitpicky PITA.

But I didn't love the book all the same.

Maybe it was Caliban, the character in whose first-person POV the book is written. He's likeable enough, but he can't quite compare to his brother, Niko. Yes, I'm being shallow, but it was Niko who intrigued me, not Caliban. (Niko's cuter, :))

This is when Caliban is half Auphe–demon, for the lack of a better translation.

I think what killed the book for me was that up until the end, Caliban wasn't the sort of guy to embrace his dark side. That is what I look for in a book like this. I don't do "Woe is me, I'm an evil person" type books. Embrace the evil, dammit! 
I'll be picking up the next book though, and I suggest you get this one (maybe from the library) too, especially if you're looking for something darker than Jim Butcher's Harry Dresden books.

12 Responses to “Rob Thurman: Nightlife”


  1. May 11, 2006 at 6:13 pm

    I have this book, I read the first page and set it aside because it didn’t grab me. It’s interesting, what you say about how you felt.

    On a different note, I was looking at your sidebar today, I like how you’ve arranged the categories, it made me laugh despite the fact that I didn’t get picked to be on there *sob* πŸ˜‰ I’m also digging this new template more than the other. Now, is Twists and Turns the final title of the blog?

  2. May 11, 2006 at 7:15 pm

    Here's the thing about the book: The writing didn't work for me as a reader. Kinda like Neil Gaiman, I know he's an excellent writer, but I don't LOVE LOVE LOVE his work.  

    I'm not done with the links yet. Don't worry. I drop by once a day, so there's no reason why I wouldn't stick you in the links.

    Would you prefer to be in Industrial Interests or Taking The Heat with MelJean and Jordan? This is a very difficult question I'm wrestling with. Please help. LOL. 

    Can I take the fifth on the last question? But I think it should be. You can blame Maili for the name change. LOL.

  3. May 12, 2006 at 12:08 am

    I just flipped the book open tonight and read a few pages. I’m not sucked in yet. It’s okay, but not OMG gotta read this right now. It might take me a few weeks to pick it back up.

  4. May 12, 2006 at 2:38 am

    I must be the only one. I loved this book. I thought Niko was interesting and would love to know more about him, but I think it worked on a family level. Cal fighting the evil seemed more believable to me. πŸ™‚

  5. May 12, 2006 at 8:18 am

    Well Niko did seem more like the assassin type. Or spy.

    But Cal…For most of the book, he seemed soft to me.

  6. May 12, 2006 at 12:05 pm

    Oh honey, taking the heat, because it made me laugh. Know why? I immediately think hmm…that rhymes with taking the meat. ROFL. omg, I need help.

    And I suppose you can take the fifth πŸ™‚

  7. May 12, 2006 at 1:18 pm

    You’re there. Taking The Heat? It refers to erotic romance. LOL. πŸ™‚

  8. 8 mddkid
    May 4, 2007 at 1:15 pm

    I liked the book and the second one too, and am devistated to learn that I have to wait a year, yes March 2008 for the next one.

  9. 9 Copper Hikari
    July 22, 2007 at 5:07 am

    Jeez, the book wasn’t terrible. I for one say the only faults lie with the half of the book with Darkling. He just didn’t have that much of a contrasting personality with Cal. But Cal and Niko are still completely believable.

    And as for the sequel, Moonshine, not much changes except for the whole ‘I am evil’ thing with Cal. If you didn’t like Nightlife, Moonshine’s not worth your time then. I loved Nightlife, picked up Moonshine right away, and haven’t put it down except to sleep.

    Damn March 2008 release date.

  10. July 22, 2007 at 9:55 am

    I didn’t say the book was terrible, Copper. I just said it wasn’t anything special to me.

  11. 11 julie rock
    January 7, 2008 at 9:38 pm

    I liked the book immediately. I couldn’t help myself, I wanted to know more about Cal’s monster half. I’m hoping for some really disturbing surprises. Nikko has been so accepting of his little brother. I’d like to see something make him take a step back.


Leave a Reply

