22
Jul
08

Charlene Teglia Talks To Us: Wicked Hot…Behind the Scenes

I was trying to figure out how to introduce Charli when I stumbled on this. So instead of an introduction, we’re all going to beg her to come back and guestblog in sonnet form next year. *g* The most creative beggar wins a signed copy of Wicked Hot!

It’s always hard to know what to say about a book. There’s the obvious: Here’s the cover!

Charlene Teglias new book!

Charlene Teglia's new book!

And the blurb!

The struggle between good and evil is about to get…Wicked Hot

Edana is a succubus—a breathtakingly beautiful demon who offers men their most decadent fantasy in exchange for their souls. No one can get close to her without being destroyed..until she meets Eli and Dal. Both men are Nephilim, immortal warriors who bind and banish demons. Edana’s mission is to arouse their lust and steal their souls before they can destroy her—she never expects to fall in love. Shared by two virile lovers and lost in a world of sensation, Edana begins to fall for one of the warriors, jeopardizing her mission. Only he has power to save her, but first she must give him power over her heart—and her destiny…

But while covers are shiny (and this one has a hot nekkid guy) and blurbs are designed to catch a browser’s attention and get them to pick up a book, it doesn’t say much.

So there’s the book trailer to convey more of the mood and tone:

But what about the story behind the story? Er, well, I wanted to write a book set on Washington’s remote and rugged Olympic Peninsula. I wanted to write about Nephilim because they’re fascinating. And writing about a succubus heroine posed a lot of challenges. Writing a ménage relationship that ends in a traditional hero/heroine happily ever after posed even more challenges. I mean, if she spends the book sleeping with both of them, how do you pull off the believable romantic resolution?

To be blunt, this book gave me fits. It forced me to rethink and reinvent my process and change the way I write. It stretched me. It frustrated me. It delighted me. And in the end, it was a book I could look back on and say with satisfaction, “I did good work.”

Wicked Hot is erotic and fun and romantic and hopefully will entertain readers as much as it entertains me. Unless they are Barry Manilow fans. In which case, er, sorry, but come on, they WOULD punish people with Barry in hell.

Charlene Teglia‘s latest releases are Wicked Hot and the Naughty Nights anthology, in which you can find her story ‘Wolf in Shining Armor.’ At least she doesn’t have a pink cover to embarrass me with this time. *g*

She’s also giving away a copy of Wicked Hot, which is, indeed, Wicked Hot. You guys know the drill, comment and one lucky winner gets a signed copy.


15 Responses to “Charlene Teglia Talks To Us: Wicked Hot…Behind the Scenes”


  1. 1 Amy S.
    July 22, 2008 at 11:47 am

    Wicked Hot sounds great and I love the cover! Great trailer!

  2. July 22, 2008 at 3:13 pm

    Amy, thanks, I’m really happy with both the cover and trailer.

  3. 3 Deb
    July 22, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    Charli, Hey lovey,
    Fantastic news about your new book, Congrats!
    You know Bob and I are some of your fav fans.

    Huggers

  4. 4 Cathy M
    July 22, 2008 at 4:24 pm

    Loved the blurb and the trailer, plus the excerpt I just peeked at was wonderfully hot and sexy, so on the wish list it goes.

  5. July 22, 2008 at 7:08 pm

    Hi Deb! I love that you and Bob share your love of books. *g*

  6. July 23, 2008 at 9:46 am

    Ooh! Another blog to read!
    This book sounds really interesting. I’m curious as to how you’ve pulled off writing about 3 people in a relationship, and having it end well. It sounds like a cool idea.
    It’s definitely going on my list of books to buy, next time I have enough money to let myself near a bookshop.

  7. 8 Eva S
    July 23, 2008 at 11:23 am

    Immortal warriors are always on my wishlist.. Great cover!

  8. July 23, 2008 at 12:55 pm

    Eva, immortal warriors do have a certain appeal. *g*

  9. July 23, 2008 at 2:32 pm

    Ailsa, it’s a tricky dance. *g*

  10. 11 Larena Wirum
    July 23, 2008 at 4:11 pm

    Love the cover and the book sounds great. :-)

  11. July 24, 2008 at 1:39 am

    Larena, thanks, I’m happy with how the book turned out. : ) The original cover had the dragon on it, but I like the final version better!

  12. July 24, 2008 at 11:24 pm

    OMG, I’d forgotten about the Barry Manilow but I loved that bit!

    Actually, I’ve noticed you incorporate music or musicians into several of your stories, which I always find fun. For instance, when the heroine of The Gripping Beast sang Bobby McGee to the crew of the ancient ship she was on when she travelled to the past.

    You always use it in a way that makes me smile or giggle…

    Oh, and I loved Wicked Hot! But then, you know that already…

  13. July 25, 2008 at 1:12 am

    Jen, that’s probably because music is a big part of my writing process. I use a playlist for every title that helps shape the mood of the story. Also maybe my early training as a musician is showing. *g* I grew up learning singing, various instruments, music theory, etc. Around my teen years I knew I needed to make a career choice between writing and music, and writing won, but music has always been important in my life. That influence probably just reflects in the writing.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

