26
Jun
08

6 Questions with Larissa Ione

Larissa is an occasional partner-in-crime and well, that’s enough said about the type of gal she is, right?

1. On a scale of one to ten, rank your current level of insanity–where ten is belongs-in-lunatic-asylum insane–and tell us why.

Ten-point-five. Why? Let’s see…I have two books due in just a few days – the fourth Sydney Croft ACRO novel, Taming The Fire, and the third Demonica book, Eternity Embraced. I also have a proposal to write for the fifth ACRO novel, and I’m getting ready to head to Washington state for a month to visit my parents…as well as getting ready for RWA in San Francisco at the end of July. Just hand over the straight-jacket. Yeah, that’s it…buckle it tighter…feels good…

2. Since winter is your favourite season, what are your top tips for dealing with summers? (I’m going from gloomy old England to tropical Singapore…should be fun.)

Ooh, I LOVE England!!!! I wanna live there SO bad!!! And my tips for dealing with summers? Avoid them at all costs. *g* Yep, I pretty much just stay inside and take vitamin D tablets. Oh, and drink lots of cold drinks. You know, like margaritas…

3. Broadly speaking, isn’t the series that you write with Stephanie Tyler as Sydney Croft rather similar to the Demonica series? Both are paranormal, erotic and romance.

You know, it a lot of ways, they are similar…on the surface. But the differences are huge. The ACRO series is really more science-fiction than paranormal, and it’s also VERY erotic. The Demonica series is hot, but it’s not anywhere near the ACRO series in terms of erotic content. Another big difference is that the Demonica series is very, very dark. I definitely tapped into my horror background to write these books.

Also setting the books apart are the basic setups and settings. The ACRO books are about humans with special powers who work for a secret agency called the Agency for Covert Rare Operatives. The world is basically contemporary, with some grounding in science.

In the Demonica series, the main characters are three demon brothers who run an underworld hospital. The inhabitants of this world are a mix of demons, vampires, were-beasts, and humans. There isn’t a whole lot of science in these books – it’s pure imagination with mythical undertones.

4. The first generation of authors who started blogging before they were published are now maturing as a breed. Do you think it’s made you a little more savvy about the internet as a tool for authors than you would have been otherwise?

You know, I talked with Stephanie (Tyler) about this, and she brought up a good point – that basically, that first generation hasn’t changed their style much. I agree. I know I started blogging in 2003, and at the time, there weren’t a lot of author or reader blogs out there. Blogging was pretty much in its promotional-tool infancy, and authors who blogged were big on conversation and craft more than straight promo. I think, because of that, I’ve never seen my personal blog as a huge promotional tool.

Yes, that’s what it is, but really, my blog is my home, my personal space, and if I want to talk about something as mundane as what I had for breakfast, I feel comfortable doing so. But I also see the value of blogs as a hardcore promotional tool, and I know a lot of authors use them a LOT more effectively than I do.

So, savvy…in my case, not so much. I think that because I started blogging so long ago, I’ve continued to use my blog more casually than many authors. It’s a tool, but for me, it’s probably not as effective for promo as it could be.

5. Do you think that there will ever be anything that could tempt your sweet tooth back into action? And what do you crave during PMS if you don’t want sweets?

LOL! What a fun question! But alas, I think my sweet tooth is the one that got the root canal. It’s dead. I do crave sweets every once in a while, but it’s very, very rare. When I do get a craving, for some reason I want a Dairy Queen sundae. Of course, I usually eat two bites and I’m done. I also enjoy the Godiva chocolate cheesecake from The Cheesecake Factory. Takes me three days to eat a slice, though!

For the most part, I crave salt when I’m PMSing. Potato chips, popcorn, and cheese!

6. Are you sure it says Demonica and not Demented on the cover of Pleasure Unbound?

*g* Pretty sure, but I’m working on that Demented proposal! *g*

Larissa Ione‘s current release is the first book of the Demonica series, Pleasure Unbound, and she’s giving away a signed copy to one lucky winner!


28 Responses to “6 Questions with Larissa Ione”


  1. 1 Mad
    June 26, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    Fun interview, Larissa! Love the “demented” part! ;)

    PS. Don’t count me in for the prize…already read and loved the book. :)

  2. June 26, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    Great interview… I want a root canal on my sweet tooth!

  3. 3 Larena Wirum
    June 26, 2008 at 10:54 pm

    Hi Larissa

    You sound like me when it comes to sweets. I am not big on them either. Love the answers and great questions. :-) I am dying to read this book. Sounds like a great book. Love the premise.

  4. June 26, 2008 at 11:13 pm

    *waving to Mad* Hi Fatin! Thank you for stopping by! And May…she’s funny. She thought on the front of the book it said “A Demented Novel” instead of “A Demonica Novel.” :) I told her I’d see if I could come up with a Demented series! LOL

    Hi Larena! Glad I’m not the only person who isn’t big on sweets!!! LOL

  5. 5 JUDY COX
    June 26, 2008 at 11:16 pm

    Boy, I wish I could do something with my sweet tooth. It craves chocolate!! I try not to bring it in the house for weeks. It then gets so bad, I have to send my husband to the store for a candy bar at least.

    I would love to read Pleasure Unbound. I tend to lean towards “dark”. This series sounds very interesting!!

  6. 6 Cathy M
    June 26, 2008 at 11:28 pm

    Well I already love the Acro series and can’t wait to start your Demonica series. Been really enjoying the excerpts and have Pleasure Unbound on my wish list.

  7. June 27, 2008 at 12:47 am

    “waving like a mad woman* HI LARISSA!! I would have been here earlier but you know how it is. You know if I dont’s stop following you I may be tagged as the “s” word *whispering* stalker. It’s okay about your sweet tooth. If anything by Godiva still crosses your lips you’re ok with me. :)

    Keep writing and putting out those great stories!

  8. 9 Amy S.
    June 27, 2008 at 1:25 am

    Great interview Larissa! Love your books! I have this one on my wishlist. It sounds great!

  9. June 27, 2008 at 1:26 am

    Very unique setting! This book is on my TBB list.

  10. 11 azteclady
    June 27, 2008 at 2:17 am

    Hi, Larissa!

    You know how much I want this book, don’t you? A signed copy would be fantastic. Please do count me in? *puppy eyes*

    :wink:

  11. 12 Ing
    June 27, 2008 at 2:28 am

    Waving to Larissa and Milady! Great interview! Please don’t enter me either! I’ve read and pimped the butt out of this book..lol! Just wanted drop by and say ummm beer anyone..hehehehee! Fantastic book and EVIL not demented is more like it!

  12. June 27, 2008 at 3:12 am

    PS: May, did you get my email?

  13. 14 annalisa
    June 27, 2008 at 4:36 am

    Enjoyed your interview! The Demonica series sounds great. Pleasure Unbound is on my wishlist too! :)

  14. 15 catslady
    June 27, 2008 at 5:36 am

    I’ve been hearing about your book at various blogs – sounds wonderful!

  15. 16 Eva S
    June 27, 2008 at 7:53 am

    I love your Sydney Croft books, and this book sounds so great! It will be on my keeper shelf too.
    It would be fun with a Demented series….

  16. 17 Crystal B.
    June 27, 2008 at 12:05 pm

    Great interview Larissa. Your Demonica series sounds great. Pleasure Unbound is on my wishlist.

  17. June 27, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    Hi everyone!!!

    Okay, some of your posts popped up after I commented, but they popped up ahead of my last comment…so Judy, Nannette, don’t think I ignored you! *g*

    Anyway, good to see y’all! Did I mention how excited I am about this book? *ggg*

  18. 19 Pamk
    June 27, 2008 at 1:52 pm

    I am so looking forward to this book. I actually work in a hospital and I can assure you that I think parts of this might acutally be true. some of the characters your meet really do some otherworldly and not usually in a good way lol.

  19. June 27, 2008 at 6:27 pm

    Great interview!!!

    My problem is I love salty food as much as sweet. *g*

  20. June 27, 2008 at 6:27 pm

    Nice interview. I wish I had my sweet tooth removed then I wouldn’t crave chocolate peanuts at PMS time :S At least I don’t use sugar in my tea – I hate to think what I would look like taking two spoons of it instead of the two sweeteners I curently use :D

  21. 22 Ayla
    June 27, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    Oh i crave salty things too – i can’t do without my tortilla crisps (chips to you guys) and i looooooooooove cheeeese! i’ve been told i’m an addict becasue i have it so much.

    I’m thinking that i’m being stalkerish too, but now i have money i can go buy a copy at last. yaaay! (if i don’t win it of course….although i might anyway, so my mum can read it)

  22. 23 Karin
    June 28, 2008 at 4:06 am

    Great interview, Larissa. Winter is my favorite season as well and I do a lot of what you suggested in order to cope with summer. I’m definitely looking forward to reading Pleasure Unbound, as well as the other two books in this series.

  23. 24 azteclady
    June 28, 2008 at 6:09 pm

    Please don’t consider me for the drawing–I just scored this book at the store! *happy dancing*

    Have a good weekend, everyone!

  24. June 28, 2008 at 8:40 pm

    Great interview!

    Ohmigod, the cheesecake factory is HEAVEN. When I used to go to another college, there was an International Plaza with a factory in it a few blocks away and I ate a lot of cheesecake, lol.

    Can’t wait to read Pleasure Unbound! :)

  25. 26 Kimmy L
    June 28, 2008 at 9:54 pm

    Great interview. I crave salt too when pmsing. LOL Can’t wait to read this book. I’ve heard it’s great.

  26. June 30, 2008 at 1:24 pm

    Hi all! Thanks so much for stopping by! This was fun! :)

    I think May has picked a winner, so I’ll get the book mailed out as soon as I get an addy.

    Again, thank you! And thank you, May!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

