31
May
08

I Don’t Read Like I Used To

I can’t do it any more, sit and read for 6-8 hours in a stretch. Mind you, I can study for that long, so it’s not about stamina.

Part of it is that I’m not usually lucky enough to pick up 3-4 books that I will finish in a stretch.

The other is simply that I can’t do it any more. I finish one book, and then I just don’t want another.

The last three books I finished were non-fiction and one book I am critiquing for Jessica.

On the one hand, it means I actually have time to do other stuff. On the other hand, I look at my TBR pile and it’s rather taller than I am at the moment.

In fact, it’s taller than it usually is and that used to be pretty hard. The books I’m planning to get from the library when I go home to Singapore? All non-fiction. Fiction just doesn’t rank very high on my list right now.

And I can’t help but wonder if it’s because the writing is going pretty well at the moment–though if I’m reading an ebook, I often read and write at the same time.

Actually, it’s just occurred to me that the only thing I’m reading consistently right now is Shadow Unit. If not for the fact that I’ve not updated my links in forever, it would so be there.

I will be here more in the coming months. My schedule will be more insane, but my time management skills are also exponentially better, so I shall WIN and have a life.

4 Responses to “I Don’t Read Like I Used To”


  1. May 31, 2008 at 11:58 pm

    ABLE, maybe?

    I read a lot more a few years ago than I do now. In 2000 I read nearly 200 books. So far this year I’m not even up to 50. I’m not worried about it. Really.

  2. June 1, 2008 at 6:53 am

    I know I go through phases – one minute I’m gobbling up a mystery and the next I want Napoleon Hill or to stimulate my intellect. Maybe you just need a book you actually FEEL like reading!

    Here’s to the massive TBR pile….
    :)
    Leigh
    The Mystery Maiden
    Shot In The Dark Mysteries.com

  3. June 1, 2008 at 8:54 am

    Interesting, May.

    I’m like…totally terrible. LOL. I suffer from ADD reading, and I can’t seem to read the same genre for a long time without getting bored. I go back and forth.

    If you’re looking for a good nonfic, try GUNS GERMS & STEEL. ;)

  4. June 1, 2008 at 9:12 pm

    Alice, Able? I don’t understand? I’m not worried, but I would have more stuff to blog about if I read more.

    Leigh, I buy new books all the time. There has to be something in my shopping cart that I want to read, right?

    Angelle, ADD…Yeah, in a sense. Gun, Germs & Steel has been on my wish list since before you blogged about it. It’s just that I’ve not gotten there yet. Sigh.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

