01
May
08

Alan Campbell: Iron Angel

In Iron Angel, the second book of the Deepgate Codex, we meet the other sons of the goddess Ayen, and we travel to the other side of the world.

It feels almost as though we’ve taken one big step backwards from Scar Night’s finer focus on Dill and Rachel, such that in Iron Angel, we look at the bigger picture, but without losing the pacing and certainly not the feel of being balanced on the knife edge of action.

It is by far a better book than Scar Night–which incidentally, I appear to have forgotten to review. It is less…rough, for lack of a better word. The story flows, rather than occasionally stopping and starting around passages of lovely description.

The worldbuilding is, again, amazing. It’s not only the level of detail, but also that the details given to you are just enough for you to draw your own pictures without dragging the book down, something I felt was an issue in Scar Night.

And all this is capped with what I consider to be an glorious ending. There will be people who will disagree with me, but I think it is a pitch-perfect ending for this book.

Iron Angel rates 4 out of 5.

(The publisher sent the book to me.)

I’m giving away a copy. I do think this book is that good. Comment to put your name in the draw.

6 Responses to “Alan Campbell: Iron Angel”


  1. May 3, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    Is this a standalone book
    or do we have to read Scar Night?

    I kind of like starting with the second book in the series.
    I know, strange, but I find the first book is too much set up for me.
    I like to start in the middle.

  2. May 3, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    Eh, I’d say read Scar Night first, personally.

    Plus, I think you’d be really disappointed with Scar Night otherwise.

  3. 3 Dan
    May 5, 2008 at 12:02 pm

    Hmmm, I found Sacr Night quite entertaining myself. I do agree though, Iron Angel is a great book. There’s a novella called “Lye Street” available (but not widely available!) that serves as a neat companion for both Scar Night and Iron Angel; I think I would have struggled with the relevance of some of the events in Iron Angel without reading Lye Street first.

  4. 4 Liz
    May 6, 2008 at 9:51 am

    Hmmm – I have got Scar Night waiting in my TBR pile…so if no one has taken this one May, I’m happy to take it off your hands.

    Liz

  5. 5 Larena Wirum
    May 7, 2008 at 10:31 pm

    It sounds very interesting. Should be a good book to read.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

