05
Feb
08

Meljean Brook: Demon Night

Charlie Newcomb worked hard to get her life back together. But all that is shaken when she’s set upon by three vampires desperate to transform her beauty into something evil. Because Charlie is the vital link to something they want—and need. It’s Charlie’s flesh and blood sister, a medical scientist whose knowledge could be invaluable to the predators.

But to get to her, they must first get to Charlie, now under the intimate protection of Ethan McCabe. As her Guardian, Ethan is attracted to her vulnerabilities—as well as her strengths. The closer he gets, the more protecting her becomes not just his duty, but his desire. But will it be enough to save Charlie when the demon night falls?

Lovely, I think, would be the word to describe Demon Night. And sweet too—though not that way, Meljean never fails us on the hot sex part. ;)

I have raved about the worldbuilding in this series before, but I think that the pieces really come together in this book. Maybe it’s because I’ve read the previous books too, or maybe it’s because we’re probably about five, six hundred thousand words into the series, it’s just been that much easier to fall into Demon Night for me.

Ethan…I’ve described Colin as delicious, and Hugh as interesting, but Ethan…there goes a hero who is just too damn easy to fall in love with.

Like Ethan, Charlie has a past that she is not entirely proud of. I think the most significant imbalance of the book is here, that we got to see more of Ethan’s past than Charlie’s. An example: her singing, or its loss, isn’t touched on here.
In Demon Night, we have a demon who can and appears to have fallen in love. Which is one of the things I appreciate about this series, that it’s not all black and white, and makes it one of the few series to have passed my Three Book Test in the past year–IOW, the likelihood of me not sticking it through with the series has fallen pretty close to nil.

Demon Night rates 4 out of 5.


4 Responses to “Meljean Brook: Demon Night”


  1. February 10, 2008 at 2:19 am

    I haven’t read anything from this series yet. Maybe I should.

  2. 2 Larena Wirum
    February 20, 2008 at 8:00 pm

    This is already on my TBB list. sigh…still working through my TBR list. :-)

  3. 3 Sayuri_x
    March 14, 2008 at 6:26 pm

    I read this book in two nights. It is frickin’ genius.

    I am completely in love with Ethan. Like totally fangirl-ly, crushily in love with him. And Meljean Brook.

    This is the first of Meljean’s books I have read and I am defintley going to buy the rest, after I have re-read this one a couple of times…. *squee*


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

