10
Nov
07

Jeaniene Frost: Halfway To The Grave

Half-vampire Catherine Crawfield is going after the undead with a vengeance, hoping that one of these deadbeats is her father – the one responsible for ruining her mother’s life. Then she’s captured by Bones, a vampire bounty hunter, and is forced into an unlikely partnership.

In exchange for help finding her father, Cat agrees to train with the sexy night stalker until her battle reflexes are as sharp as his fangs. She’s amazed she doesn’t end up as his dinner – are there actually good vampires? Pretty soon Bones will have her convinced that being half-dead doesn’t have to be all bad. But before she can enjoy her status as kick-ass demon hunter, Cat and Bones are pursued by a group of killers. Now Cat will have to choose a side…and Bones is turning out to be as tempting as any man with a heartbeat.

I like a heroine who goes after her enemies with the intention to kill, and succeeds, and Catherine Crawfield is certainly that. But I do wonder: No matter how much she wanted to kill vampires, actually killing one should have some sort of impact on her psyche, surely? Unless she’s sociopathic, in which case this book automatically gets an extra 0.5 points.

I disliked the inclusion of your typical, urban fantasy “female protagonist was badly hurt emotionally by the male(s) in her life” backstory. But at least she wasn’t raped, I suppose.

It’s Bones who kicks the book into high gear though, because that’s when Cat has someone to play against, with and for. IOW, she’s got someone fight with, play with, and do the dirty thing with. *g* Bones is very well-drawn, especially in a first-person novel where another character’s the viewpoint character, and that helps pull the book together.

While I want to emphasize the fact that Halfway To The Grave is an urban fantasy novel, not a romance no matter what it says on the spine, I also want to say that I liked the ending, even though it does feel rather like a cliffhanger. I think it rings more true than if the usual thing was to happen, and I can’t wait to read the next book.

Halfway To The Grave rates 3.5 out of 5.

Full disclosure: Jeaniene Frost sent me the book.


4 Responses to “Jeaniene Frost: Halfway To The Grave”


  1. November 15, 2007 at 6:52 pm

    I have been raving about this series to all my urban fantasy addict friends ever since I read it last month. I discovered Stein from her short story in the vamp anthology “Many Bloody Returns,” and I thought she had one of the best stories in that book. I read anthologies to find urban fantasy series I am not familiar with, and discovering Stein’s series turned out to be a real treat. Yes, I am definitely a fan now (grin)!

  2. November 15, 2007 at 6:58 pm

    Oops! Has this been a long day or what? It’s was the vamp thing that threw me I think, and the similar first names. Okay, I just got Frost mixed up with Jeanne Stein. Actually, I have ordered Frost’s books, and they are on the way to me and should be here tomorrow. Sorry! When I finish them I’ll make a more intelligent comment (grin). Yeesh…what a day!

  3. November 23, 2007 at 2:25 pm

    Just finished Halfway to the Grave. And whilst I enjoyed it a lot! I thought the middle 75% was much better than the first and last 12.5 per cents.

    And I agree with you, when Bones was on page it was lifted to another level.

    Must sit down and write a review.

  4. March 28, 2008 at 12:14 pm

    Just read it myself and liked it. I hope we see more character development of Cat in the next book.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

