04
Sep
07

When Cheyenne Interviews Jaci

If Muhammad will not go to the mountain, the mountain will come to Mohammed. The Terrible Twosome of Jaci Burton and Cheyenne McCray have decided to release me from my misery at being unable to stalk them all over the internets, and have come to the blog instead.

1. Favorite ice cream?

Cookie Dough

2. What’s your favorite meal to cook? And if you don’t cook, what’s your favorite take out food?

I love making spaghetti, because I make home made sauce and I think it’s fantastic.

3. Movies or Music?

Movies. I love watching movies.

4. Beach or mountains?

Beach. It’s too cold at the mountains.

5. Coke, Pepsi, 7 up, Dr Pepper or other?

Diet Dr. Pepper.

6. Flying or Driving?

I used to love flying. Now I can’t stand it. Long lines and for some reason flying makes me queasy. Driving is just fine with me, even if it does take longer. At least you’re in charge of when you stop and what you can pack and when you can eat.

7. Do you and your honey have pet names for each other? And if so, care to share?

Yes we do, and no I’m not sharing. Heh.

8. How long does it take you to write a book in your Demon Hunter series?

Because the plot and subplot for these books are so complex, it takes anywhere from 4 to 6 months to write these books and really sift through them for continuity to make sure they shine before I turn them in.

9. How do you come up with the names for your heroes and heroines? Do you do them yourself or do you get help?

Sometimes the names just pop right into my head. Sometimes I have to go to my friends for help, or use one of those baby name generators. Affixing a name to a character isn’t really all that easy. It just has to ‘fit’ the character, ya know?

10. Do you take vacations? If so, what’s your favorite vacation spot?

I love vacations, and I don’t get to take all that many. My husband and I often travel only for business, either his or mine. But I love anywhere that has an ocean and a beach. *sigh*

11. Out of all your books, what’s your favorite cover so far?

I have to say Out of the Darkness, because my husband and I are on that cover (and he’d be mad at me if I said otherwise. ;-) )

12. Tell us about Hunting the Demon. When does it release, who are the main characters and what’s the story about?

It released August 28th! Hunting the Demon is the second book in my Demon Hunter series with Bantam Dell. This one is Shay and Nic’s story, and it’s set in Australia. Nic is Derek’s brother (Derek was the hero in the first book) and the demon hunters are out to grab Nic and determine whether the demon blood within him is going to make him side with the evil Sons of Darkness or whether they can convince him to join the Realm of Light and fight against the demons. Shay is one of the demon hunters with secrets of her own, and those secrets reveal much about Nic, but she hesitates telling anyone what she knows because it reveals a lot about who she is.

Lots of secrets in this book, and it was tons of fun to write!

13. What’s the best way for readers to find you?

My Website

My Blog

Email: jaci (at) jaciburton (dot) com (no spaces, and substitutions where appropriate)

Jaci’s giving away either a signed copy of Wild, Wicked and Wanton or Surviving Demon Island, winner’s choice! I think she’d know all about surviving, demons and all, because, you know, she’s survived moi. ;)

17 Responses to “When Cheyenne Interviews Jaci”


  1. 1 Crystal B.
    September 4, 2007 at 4:57 pm

    Great interview. Love it. :)

  2. 2 kim h
    September 4, 2007 at 5:03 pm

    great interview

  3. 3 Cherie J
    September 4, 2007 at 6:22 pm

    Cool interview! Speaking of cool, I love cookie dough ice cream as well. It is so yummy! Interesting insight into how you name your charaters Jaci.

  4. September 4, 2007 at 8:42 pm

    WAIT! WAIT! WAIT! That really IS you and Charlie on the cover of “Out of the Darkness”? I thought you were joking about that! DAMN! You two are freakin’…. um… uh… *Bev is shutting up now to avoid being labeled a Burton perv*

    BTW, don’t enter me in the contest. I already have both books. However, if you just happen to change the prize to an ARC of “The Demon’s Touch”, go ahead and enter my name… several times.

    *waving to Chey, too*

  5. September 4, 2007 at 9:23 pm

    Yum Cookie Dough, my fav too. I also love cake flavored ice cream. My family thinks I’m nuts lol

  6. 6 cathy
    September 4, 2007 at 9:41 pm

    I love cookie dough ice cream too, and what is it about the flying thing? I used to love the whole adventure of flying, now I can’t stand it either.

  7. 7 Sue A.
    September 5, 2007 at 12:52 am

    On a previous blog I asked when you’d be switching places between the interviewer and interviewee. Now that you’ve done that, I’d like to know when you’re going to fulfill my other request which was for the two of you to write a book together? ;-)

    You gals are great together!

  8. September 5, 2007 at 12:47 pm

    Yes that’s really us on the cover, Bev. And thanks for the compliment *grin*

    I knew there’d be a lot of cookie dough ice cream lovers.

    I’d love to write a book with Chey someday. That would be fun!

  9. 9 cathiecaffey
    September 5, 2007 at 3:02 pm

    Hi Chey and Jaci! That was neat!! Loved the interviews! I went shopping recently and just slipped them in cart when hubby was not looking, and I got both your new ones (MAGIC and DEMON). SO which should I read first, hehe. I want to read both at same time but going to savour them!Hope I still can be in contest if I bought your new book!

    Jaci if you share your pet names, i’ll share mine. LOL. I didn’t know you and hubby were the ones on the covers for OUT OF DARKNESS! Great!!

    Is it hard for you with all the books you doing, to keep track of so much? Do you keep like graphs and all of info on your books?

  10. 10 Jaci
    September 5, 2007 at 9:08 pm

    Thanks for getting my books Cathie! Graphs? Um, no. I do have to refer to my website or my publisher’s website sometimes. And sometimes I forget which character was in which book. Eep!

    *g*

  11. 11 Jaci
    September 5, 2007 at 9:08 pm

    Oh and I will never reveal pet names. My husband would kill me ;-)

  12. 12 Teresa W.
    September 5, 2007 at 10:19 pm

    Enjoyed the post today!

  13. 13 cathiecaffey
    September 6, 2007 at 4:57 am

    Yikes Jaci! You should have a reader keep up the chart like to help. LOL on remember where the character was, in which book. I can imagine that happening with writing so much!.

    You’re welcomed, It was a pleasure to buy it! And too soon, to read it! I love how thich this one is! Yum!

  14. September 6, 2007 at 5:45 am

    Hi Jaci and Cheyenne! Great Interviews! My favorite thing to make is spaghetti too! Only it’s not my fave cause the sauce is homemade and delicious- it’s my fave cause all I have to do is boil water and open a jar- LOL I had no idea that was you and your hubby on the cover- that is so cool!

  15. September 6, 2007 at 10:38 am

    MmM…spaghetti, that’s one of my favorite meals to cook too! Great interview, and feel free to enter me in the contest! lol.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

