17
Aug
07

6 Questions with Dionne Galace

1. On a scale of one to ten, rank your current level of insanity-where ten is belongs-in-lunatic-asylum insane-and tell us why.

Hmm… I’d say seven right now. My first published work, Skin to Skin is coming out in a few days (Aug 17) and I just found out that Liquid Silver Books is releasing Boundless (an anthology I share with Annie Dean and Bonnie Dee) on September 3rd. That’s two releases within two weeks from each other, so you’ll have to forgive me if I seem a little tense. I also just submitted something to Samhain and I’m waiting to hear from them… it’s a wonder I haven’t chewed up my fingers to nubs. Oh, and the WIP I’m working on right now is driving me nuts. So… um… I think I’m thisclose to stark-raving mad.

2. Were you a writer before you started your blog?

I’ve been writing since I was nine years old, no joke. It all started when I ran out of things to read around the house (my VC Andrews books, my comic books, my mom’s Sidney Sheldon books, my dad’s tech manuals) and began pestering my mother to take me to the library. She was washing the dishes at the time, so she turned to me and said, “Why don’t you write your own books?” And it was the craziest thing I had ever heard, but I was really excited about it. I started writing Babysitter’s Club fanfic and was hooked. In high school, I took all the creative classes I could, then went on to college and majored in Creative Writing. I love everything about writing.

To answer your question, yes, I was a writer before I started my blog. But I also love books (every spare cent I have, I would spend on books over food and anything else. I think that’s why I’m really poor) and I love talking about them with people who love them. I wanted to encourage a dialogue about them.

3. You’re known as a snarky, even occasionally a mean girl reviewer. Do you think you’re going to get what some would call your just deserts?

I realize that and I’m cool with it. Half the time, I don’t really expect anyone to like my work anyway, so hey, it’s a pleasant surprise when someone says something nice about it. Ha-ha. If there are authors out there who want to get their licks in (wink), go for it. I do hope folks will like it and not hate it out of spite.

4. There is a school of thought that says e-pub authors especially need to write fast, and publish a lot. What’s your take?

I’m gonna come at you all cliche here, but I prefer quality over quantity. I think people only do that “write fast and publish a lot” if they hope to make money from this gig. But I really, really can’t crank it out. I’m the type who agonizes over each sentence in my head until it reads wonderfully (to me, anyway). I’m not saying my stuff’s Great American Literature or anything, but there’s a glut of really, really bad fic out there and frankly, I don’t need to be polluting it with my barely literate swill.

5. This question has kept me up for many a night. Why do people call you Bam?

I was a very destructive kid. I was always breaking stuff and my grandmother said I reminded her of Bamm-Bamm from the Flinstones ’cause I was always hitting things with a stick. I grew up being called that and to this day, my family calls me “Bam”. Easier to spell and remember than Dionne, isn’t it? :)

6. Where is blogging on your list of favorite ways to procrastinate?

Let’s see… #1, I think. No, that’s not true. Maybe #3. First, I read the gossip blogs like Defamer and D-Listed. Second, I read my favorite rom-bloggers. Third… yeah, I blog. I haven’t posted a review in a while ’cause I haven’t had time to sit down and just read a book. Heck, “Marked” by PC Cast and her daughter Kristin, has been staring at me in the face for weeks, just begging to be finished, and I haven’t been able to because I’ve been so busy with school. So to list my ways of procrastinating: 1) gossip blogs 2) rom-blogs 3) blogging 4) watching talk shows 5) staring at the wall.

Dionne Galace‘s debut release, Skin To Skin, is out today from Samhain Publishing — I’ll edit to add the sale page later today — to be followed by Waking Kitty in the Boundless anthology from Liquid Silver Books.

8 Responses to “6 Questions with Dionne Galace”


  1. 1 bam
    August 17, 2007 at 4:44 am

    ’cause I was always hitting sticks with a stick.

    that’s “things with a stick”.

    I’m the type who agonizes over each sentence it my head until it reads wonderfully

    that’s supposed to be “in”.

  2. 2 bam
    August 17, 2007 at 4:44 am

    I’m sorry, May… I shoudda proof-read it before I sent it to you. :(

  3. August 17, 2007 at 3:46 pm

    I’m sorry too Bam, because I swear, I did read it before I hit post. Will go fix this now.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

