16
Aug
07

I thank my father, my mother…

….and YOU, for saving my sanity in the past few months and putting up with my whining which got to crisis point yesterday.

My Sisters, Joely and Michelle, for patting my head and sending me off with more severed hands whenever I need them.

The Jessicas, aka “Still Stuck in the Past” Tudor and Down South Jessie, for distracting me when I most needed distraction.

Edie, for appearing to think I’m more or less normal (please don’t tell me if this isn’t the case) and breezing past my surlier days without calling me on it.

Susan, for giving me something to brainstorm about and to add to my to-do list when I most needed it.

Jaci and Charli, for sharing in my cake ramblings, and for being brave enough to come back to my blog again and again.

Bam, for helping me sleep better and distracting me by sending me Skin To Skin so I can ponder “What shall I read next?” with much thoroughness.

Tia, for pointing out that if I couldn’t bake my own cake, good chocolate ice cream is a more than reasonable substitute for cake.

Alice, for making me laugh because it is true that I am a Box Cake Snob–and proud of it too.

Jane, for not replying with a “you’re mad” email to my rave about Dorie Greenspan’s Baking: From My Home To Yours.

KS, for making me laugh about your husband, and I hope both of you have recovered from the trauma of sending your kids off to school.

Raine, just because she Rocks instead of Reeking.

Ann, for this poem.

HelenKay, for posting about all sorts of interesting books so I can spend ages and ages flipping through her blog archives and distract myself with “Oh, that looks shiny and I think I should get that!”

Wendy/Portia, for understanding that the promise of a shiny, sexy, very hot and SIGNED book makes for a happy miladyinsanity, and I swear, I’ll become better at replying to emails.

Rhian, for making me feel better about myself simply by being crazier than me.

Becca, for showing me what it means to be grace in face of adversity.

I’m forgetting a lot of peeps, I know, so shoot me if you’re one of them and I’ll regenerate myself and fix you up in the next list.

Hugs, kisses and a fabulous chocolate cake, May


11 Responses to “I thank my father, my mother…”


  1. August 16, 2007 at 3:15 pm

    Any time you need a severed hand or two, you just let me know. Hugs, I’m so happy for you!

  2. August 16, 2007 at 3:36 pm

    Raine, just because she Rocks instead of Reeking.

    Hey. We wallabys are flexible. ;-)
    Go celebrate!

  3. August 16, 2007 at 5:28 pm

    Woohoo – my sister is off to University! LOL :-D Way to go May! I am so absolutely proud of you. You’ve had a tough year, you’ve worked hard, and you deserve this.

  4. August 16, 2007 at 6:03 pm

    Yes, but are you baking a cake? *g*

    Hugs May. And smile :-)

  5. 5 Ann
    August 16, 2007 at 6:18 pm

    Congrats on getting in. That is too cool! Glad you liked my poem, and feel free to comment when you visit *g*.

  6. August 16, 2007 at 7:30 pm

    Look at this awesome group of people who rallied around you, May. Says something, doesn’t it???

    I’ll do it again if you need me to. And if you ever move to the states, I’ll come bake a cake FOR you. I’m still into that idea for #2’s birthday, now that my French baker’s out of commission! (who me? Sad about that? You betcha! Talk about bad things and good people…)

  7. August 16, 2007 at 8:17 pm

    Don’t worry about not replying to emails straight away… you’ve had a lot on your mind!

    Take care…

    Love

    WendyPortia

  8. August 17, 2007 at 12:56 am

    Cake? Did you say cake?

  9. August 17, 2007 at 12:58 pm

    wahoo! i’m crazier than May! My life is complete.
    smooches wenchy – you know of course i totally adore you.

  10. August 17, 2007 at 8:19 pm

    Anything for you! Congrats again on getting into that #1 choice – wahoo!!!!

  11. August 20, 2007 at 8:46 pm

    I’d offer a cake recipe instead, but I already know your are all better than mine.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

