02
Aug
07

Enough With The Size 0 Sniping

Check out this post. Via Lilith Saintcrow.

The original poster’s sentiments about clothing size echo my own. I’ve had those issues myself, though not from the same perspective.

But that’s not what I want to talk about.

I want to talk about the backlash against women like me, who wear very small sizes.

There are a lot of us who simply won the genetic lucky draw. I’m one of them. My grandma was a tiny woman, and before she had kids, my mother’s youngest sister wore the same size I do now–I know because I’ve inherited quite a few pieces of her pre-pregnancy wardrobe.

The undeniable truth is that there are women who starve themselves into a size 0. I pity them, and you should too, because one shouldn’t need to do such a thing to feel happy about themselves. But you shouldn’t tarnish all of us with the same brush.

I’m tired of having people talk about the fact that I wear XS–and even that’s sometimes too big thanks to vanity sizing–as though it makes me a freak and less of a woman. Because it doesn’t.

Don’t any of you realise that the world disdains us size 0 women as much as they do you normal, everyday women? Not in the same way, but it is disdain all the same. They have merely lifted us up onto a pedestal, saying that this is the woman you should aspire to be, and then knocked us down again.

When you say things like “the bane of all sane women: size 0″ you are part of that world. Without size 0, some of us wouldn’t have clothes to wear–at least, not off the rack, and most of us couldn’t afford to maintain a completely made to order wardrobe.

It’s the same way you might not have clothes if there weren’t sizes 16 and 18 and 20. We don’t begrudge you those sizes, so why do you begrudge us sizes 00 and 0 and 2?

12 Responses to “Enough With The Size 0 Sniping”


  1. August 2, 2007 at 2:04 am

    I’m a firm believer in the It Takes All Kinds to Rock the World credo. And that some of you have fantastic metabolisms and mine’s not what it used to be.

    all that said, my beef’s with the clothing industry. Why do I wear a six jean and a ten short??? How about some sizing consistency here, folks?????

  2. August 2, 2007 at 2:14 am

    Thank you. I’ve been grumpy about this very thing ever since a certain Big Name Author called women who wear sizes 00, 0 & 2 “placeholders for real people” on her weblog. Thank you, I like being reduced to something less than human. Everyone loves that.

  3. August 2, 2007 at 5:50 am

    WORD.

    I still remember a blog post from an author about a year ago, promoting her book: “Real Women Don’t Wear Size 02.” Oddly, I managed to find it even after all this time because I star posts I comment on in Google Reader. Quote from said post: “So, here’s the question — are you a real woman? And if you aren’t, i.e., you wear a 2 or a smaller size, what’s the deal? Do you eat?”

    Me: …

    Let’s put it this way. I remember this author’s name. And she is never getting a fucking cent from me.

    At one point in my life I was thin enough to wear a size 6. I didn’t look any better than I do now wearing a 12 — except for the fact that it’s harder to find flattering clothing since designers think that if you’re a size 12 you must have tree stumps for legs. :roll:

    It’s just as fucking bad to make fun of the chick who wears a size 0 as it is to make fun of the chick who wears a size 30. People need to get that through their fucking skulls.

  4. August 2, 2007 at 6:14 am

    You’re absolutely right.

    I’m a large size, but I’ve had a couple of small-sized close friends. And yes, they often had trouble finding clothes that fit, and yes, larger women often put them down.

    All so silly. Just because society’s pendulum (and a few airhead designers) has swung toward the petite rather than the former voluptuous is no reason to take it out on somewhat with a small bone structure and faster metabolism.

    If people just loved themselves more, they wouldn’t worry so much about others.

    Ok, taking my soapbox and going home, lol…

  5. August 2, 2007 at 12:28 pm

    Oh yesss, May. I have such a hang-up on this because like you, I’m tiny. No, let me correct that – I have about 10-15 extra lbs on my frame, and I weigh 116 lbs. Before everyone calls me anorexic, as most do, I AM UNDER FIVE FOOT TALL. UGH. Nobody gets this. If you are as short as I am, 116 lbs is the higher end of the healthy scale. The number itself is -irrelevant-. It’s the proportionality and, hello, just the body fat percentage, which mine is too high. But by golly, if I want to lose weight, I must have an eating disorder.

    Can’t I just want to be HEALTHY? Ugh. No, it must be that I want to fit into a size 2. (I’m a 4 now, so dang, what am I complaining about?) I hate this attitude so so much. Thanks for bringing it up, I’ve had a beef about that for a while and it felt good to vent.

  6. August 2, 2007 at 7:12 pm

    The bane of all women is why it’s necessary to put a dozen pieces of flair or daffy duck on women’s shirts.

    My biggest issue with clothing regarding size is how women become cartoons over size 14. The clothing becomes hideous, the colors garish and for some reason, the bigger the size the more spangles, buttons or bows it has to have.

    It’s my belief that women of all sizes want to wear clothes they feel good in. Sometimes sexy, sometimes feminine, comfortable, etc.

    My bane isn’t women who are thinner or more petite than I am any more than women who are bigger than I am. It’s the way we always rip each other to shreds and the use of stereotypes to dehumanize each other. Sorry, I’m agitated by the stuff I keep seeing online lately.

  7. August 3, 2007 at 3:09 am

    Nonny,

    I remember that. I thought it was very rude.

    That author wouldn’t dare say something like “Why are you size 20? Are you lazy and stupid?” But she think it’s okay to take cheap shots at skinny girls, many of whom are just skinny due to metabolism, etc.

    It just bugs me that people do that. They claim that they love all people of all sizes, but what they really mean is “I like you as long as you don’t make me look / feel fat.” *shaking head*

  8. August 3, 2007 at 5:06 pm

    Jess,

    That actually depends some on body frame also. I am 4’11 and have a very stocky, heavy frame. (Native American in my background.) Even when I was at my thinnest, I was only around 125 lbs and wearing size 4/6s.

    Sorry, bit of a pet peeve of mine since most people seem to think that if you’re under 5’0, you must have a light-boned, willowy body frame. And that’s certainly not the case for me. LOL

  9. August 3, 2007 at 7:43 pm

    Susan, that would be nice. I’m tired of having to try everything and find out that everything’s the wrong size.

    Vernieda and Nonny, that’s why I’ve never linked or mentioned her on my blog before. How in the world does she intend to sustain a readership when she’s alienating a good section of the population?

    Raine, when you’re on your soapbox, you rock!

    Jess, yes! And because I’m Asian, my healthy weight range is actually even lower, so I’m not even underweight! (Though I’ve that body fat percentage is too high thing going)

    Lauren, no apologizing required. Yes, it’s all about self-love and the fact that women find it really hard to love themselves enough. I hear you on the clothes part, because it seems that women who are petite only like cutesy stuff.

    Angelle, that’s the subtext that gets across alright.

    Nonny, to be honest, I didn’t think about that, though you’re absolutely right.

  10. August 4, 2007 at 1:08 am

    Unfortunately, I’m talking about a different author, though I completely forgot about the one Nonny’s talking about until she brought it up. Ugh, just what we need. More people to write more books about how we’re not real women!

    Alas, the one I’m talking about is a Big Name Urban Fantasy Author.

  11. August 4, 2007 at 4:42 am

    Who said “A waist is a terrible thing to mind”? It’s true. Be healthy, be happy, whatever size that works out to.

  12. August 8, 2007 at 12:50 am

    Another under 5 footer waving her hand. I’m a size 3 or 5, but if you look at the Dallas pics on Amy Knupp’s site, you can see I don’t look thin at all. A size 0 sounds good to me. :) I’ve been a size 1 in juniors not that long ago, and I looked darn good.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

