28
Jul
07

MP3 Players

Here’s hoping somebody can help me out.

I’m looking for an MP3 player.

  • 2-8GB–preferably on the higher end of this range
  • Has a hard-drive, not a flash drive.
  • I don’t care about photo/video capability.
  • Minimum 10 hours playback time.
  • Easy to use software.
  • Flat would be a huge plus
  • Coming in black color would be a huge plus too–because I have to match
  • Being able to use it as a back-up hard-drive for smaller files (eg WIP files) would be nice
  • Small is beautiful

That’s basically it, I think.

I could head straight for an iPod, but I’m not sure I want to pay the premium for having the Apple logo on my MP3 player.

I could get 2 Creative Zen Stones for the price of 1 Shuffle, or a 4GB Neeon 2 for roughly 30% less than an 4GB Nano.

Not to mention, it might kill me because I’d be paying SGD436 for an 8GB black Nano when I could get a 30GB iPod for the same price!

I don’t want the 30GB iPod because it’s BIG (I repeat, small is beautiful), and I really don’t need that much space.

On the other hand, getting an iPod would mean the convenience of being able to buy directly from iTunes without converting formats and what not–I know how to use a computer, but I like things complication-free.

Thoughts?

5 Responses to “MP3 Players”


  1. July 28, 2007 at 4:30 pm

    We have an ipod shuffle. Small, easy to use, inexpensive. It’s white though, which might violate your fashion sense.

  2. July 28, 2007 at 5:00 pm

    I have a Creative Zen Vision player, 30gb, which is bigger and more than what you wanted but I can still tell you a little about the system itself. It’s hard drive based, offers a radio option (which doesn’t matter to some people, but iPod doesn’t give the option), allows me to record if I want and yes, I can use it as a back up drive (I put a few files on it sometimes when I’m traveling from computer to computer) and has been all around awesome.

    There are two drawbacks to this. One, if you get a hard drive based player, it cannot be used for exercise. It’s like a miniature computer and not meant for alot of impact. So if you want it for that purpose, go with a flash based.

    Second, if you’re going to be looking to buy a lot of accessories/components to go with your player, it can be easier to find for the iPod brand, because they’ve taken over the world ;) Not to say you can’t find stuff for other players, just that it’s not on every street corner.

    All that said, I love my Zen player. Here’s a geek site for “anything but ipod”

    http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum/

    and for Creative Zen players: http://www.epizenter.net/news.php

  3. July 28, 2007 at 5:09 pm

    Charlene, if I get the Shuffle, I might as well get a Creative Zen Stone. It’s half the price!

    Angie, thanks! I don’t intend to use it for exercise, which is why I decided the cons of a flash-based player outweigh the pros. Plus the only thing I intend to get is another set of headphones, and I think any brand will do for that.

    In that case, I’ll almost definitely get a Creative player, but one more question, is it a problem if I want to buy from iTunes?

  4. July 29, 2007 at 7:32 am

    Creative or Olympus! Creative if you’re being patriotic, Olympus because they make great, underrated stuff.

    As for iTunes. Pffffft. Try eMusic…it’s a magnitude cheaper and you get to explore other genres besides the usual Justin Timberlake, Creed, Silverchair stuff. eMusic is fantastic if you’re an electronic music/classic/jazz/ethnic fan. I’ve been a member for more than a year now and have not been disappointed.

  5. July 30, 2007 at 3:37 pm

    I’ve got a Creative too, but it’s an older MuVo model. I adore it — and it’s purty red color.

    Can’t be more helpful other than to say I’ve really liked the simplicity with which it works.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

