22
Jul
07

So Many Drollerie Press Releases…which one is the lucky winner getting?

You’re probably wondering, am I the lucky winner? Because I’m Evil, I’m not going to tell you yet–okay, okay, it’s my fault. I blew it and forgot to draw a winner yesterday. But I’m going to make you wait anyway.

Oh, and if you want to buy it, clicking on the cover will get you to the right page. ;)


Both of these are by Cindy Lynn Speer, and aren’t they just lovely? Especially the second one. I’m definitely getting A Necklace of Rubies but haven’t decided on the other one.

Everything else (at least, I think I’ve all the titles) is below the cut.

Ya’el, a young girl living in Yizre’el in the time of King Yarov’am II, doesn’t want to live the life her parents mapped out for her the moment she was born. She doesn’t want to marry her betrothed. She doesn’t want to be a wife at all.

In search of what she does want, Ya’el finds love, adventure, and the guiding touch of the goddess before finally finding her true home at last.

I might pick this one up. I think the setting is pretty unique, and I’m interested in the “patriarchal world” versus “goddess” thing.

Father Brian leaves the Cathedral doors open for every service. Even in winter, a door is left cracked for the “parishioners of the steps,” people who won’t come in, but can’t stay away.

One of those parishioners is unusual. Lydia is neither poor nor ill, but her eyes are full of pain, and he wishes he could help her see that forgiveness is only a matter of trust.

What he doesn’t realize is that Lydia is a murderer, a monster, a legendary vampire. Father Brian may soon wish he hadn’t tried so hard to relieve her suffering.

I like vamps, especially really evil vamps, but I’m not so keen on priests as characters. The cover is rather atmospheric though.

Enori isn’t perfect, but for Jac it’s close enough. Journeyman to the town’s master carpenter, Jac spends his days repairing the things his neighbor’s break and the nights with his wife Sara.

For Jac the orb symbolizes everything that’s good about the town and he stops every day to admire its glow. When the mayor gets greedy and fire’s the orb’s old caretaker, the results are catastrophic.

Jac may be the only one who knows what’s wrong with Enori. Now he needs to find a way to fix it.

This is the kind of story that I NEED to be in the right mood to read, so it’s going to be on the someday list.

To find out more about the author, clicky here.

When former police officer Paul Altimari stumbles across a dying girl, he does what any good citizen would do–he calls the police. Too bad the body’s gone when they get there.

As more bodies pile up–some of them on Altimari’s front lawn–things get worse. Sure, he figures it out but the police aren’t going to believe him; they don’t like him much. Too bad the killer vampire likes him a little too well.

More vamps are always a good thing, right? And what the author says about his book on his blog… Hmm..

Divorced dad Tom just wants to stop for a little bit. Stop making decisions, stop being responsible, stop living someone else’s life. It’s unfortunate that he expresses that wish in the presence of the wrong person. Dessa is in the business of granting wishes. He just didn’t realize how far his would take him.

I like this cover–though I’ve liked most of the Drollerie covers I’ve seen. And the blurb sounds like fun!

Imagine Steinbeck possessed by the spirits of T. S. Eliot and William Faulkner living in San Francisco in 1999.

Now give him a pen.

Morris has written The Grapes of Wrath for a new generation. This slipstream beat poem in prose chronicles the lives of a young couple starting out in the wrong place, at the wrong time, without enough money.

Reading it is like riding Atlantis back into the sea.

Can somebody read this and tell me why there’s a bug on the cover?

The author has a blog.

Linnet doesn’t fit in and he rmother is determined to keep it a secret. Perfection is required to live in the clouds, far above the mutations and pollution of the streets below.

Linnet meets a boy from the wrong side of the clouds and is enchanted. He’s everything her friends are not, and a lot more like her than she ever imagined. She’d love to fly away with him, but she doesn’t know how. Not yet.

I’m getting this when my act gets back together–we’re hoping for end of the month here at Chez Insanity, but no promises.

And we have an excerpt, guestblog yadda yadda. Immi’s away. I wonder if I spread rumors about her, will sales of Falling rocket up? I bet Emma Wayne Porter would make a great collaborator for this, except that she’s offline Sweating it out at the moment.

Chanda, cursed to dragon form for her sins by She Who Hung the Moon, and Jalan, the Krait warrior who is her perfect match, must win an impossible battle.

Jalan must love her…and then kill her. She must love him…and die.

As we all know by now, I loved Survive My Fire. And we have an excerpt–it’s wonderful, and not just because it’s why Joely, me and MG Braden are the Sisters of the Severed Hand.

Check out her wonderful OBN post at Romancing The Blog: Romancelandia.

I’ll be picking the winner of her contest later, so you can still read her guestblog and comment!

The Drollerie Press winner is….KS Augustin! This spate of winners who know me has to end. Otherwise they have to start bribing me. *nods* KS, I’ll email you since I gotta email you anyway (I know, I know, I’m behind!) and I’m not sure which email addy you’re supposed to contact Deena at.

Please check out the Drollerie Press site, and add their RSS feed to your RSS reader or friend them on LiveJournal to keep updated about Droll Happenings–maybe I can talk Deena into changing their blog title.

Tonight, at 9PM EST, it’s Party Time in Drollerie’s new chat room. Just click here and look for the chatroom on the right sidebar. I’ll try to be there, but no promises, sadly because it’s 9am for me, and yanno, I’m on vacation.

That’s basically it for Drollerie Fiesta, but I’ll keep you guys updated. I’ve interviews with Drollerie authors Jennifer Cloud and Deborah Grabien coming up, as well as one with Amy Garvey, Drollerie Executive Editor.

4 Responses to “So Many Drollerie Press Releases…which one is the lucky winner getting?”


  1. July 22, 2007 at 5:44 pm

    1. The bug is inherent to the story, but in a metaphoric way…mostly.

    2. The priest is an interesting character, but I’m not sure you’d like the vamp if you prefer them really evil. “Monster” is from the priest’s point of view. I’d call her morally ambiguous. The story explores the theme of redemption.

    3. Provenance isn’t quite done yet, but should be up soon. It’s quite explicit…which is either a warning or a teaser, depending on your bent.

    You should just get a copy of each of them.

  2. July 22, 2007 at 5:48 pm

    Oops. I forgot to answer the question I could answer best.

    Contact address for this would be bookshop @ drolleriepress.com.

  3. July 23, 2007 at 4:40 am

    Thanks, May. Not that this has to do with cronyism or anything! :)

  4. July 24, 2007 at 12:53 pm

    Hello!

    Just stopping by…you’re right, those covers are beautiful. I hope that you find that the stories they are for are worthy. :D Thank you so much for mentioning them…

    Cindy


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

