10
Jul
07

Extracting Blood Drive by Jeanne C. Stein

Anna Strong is a vampire caught between two worlds. She clings to what makes her human, her family, her job, her lover. But the pull of the undead is a siren song becoming impossible to resist. She discovers she has a niece, Trish, a child caught up in the worst kind of human nightmare. To save Trish, Anna may have to surrender to the animal side of her nature. Concepts of good and evil are no longer clearly defined as Anna must determine who is the real monster—a human who preys on children or the vampire who tries to save them.

Check out the Blood Drive excerpt below! And isn’t that a lovely cover?

Bradley tries to wriggle out of my grasp. I pin him down with one hand and grab his face with the other. I hear him screaming, but it’s from far away. I wrench his head to the side and kiss his neck with my lips. Then I bite down. Hard.

The first lush, warm mouthful of his blood sends fire raging through mine. I push against him, my body moving to the rhythm of his heartbeat. The blood drive. I’ve never felt so alive.

An arm encircles my waist.

I rip it off.

It comes back, forceful, strong. Stronger than I. I’m torn away from Bradley and flung down on the couch.

Like a cat, I land on all fours, then spring to my feet. Rage, unrelenting in its intensity, propels me back toward my prize. Bradley is trying to get up. He has a hand pressed against his neck, but blood oozes between his fingers.

I smell it. I feel it.

It belongs to me.

Only one thing stands between us.

My friend, Daniel Frey.

© Jeanne Stein

Remember to comment! You could win a copy of this book!

3 Responses to “Extracting Blood Drive by Jeanne C. Stein”


  1. 1 Becky
    July 10, 2007 at 7:38 pm

    This sounds really good Jeanne! Congrats!

  2. 2 Cherie J
    July 11, 2007 at 7:01 pm

    This sounds great and I love that cover! Love the whole theme of a vampire becoming the protector of those who cannot protect themselves.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

