03
Jul
07

Alexis Fleming guestblogs!

Hi everyone,

First, thanks to May for having me here.

My name is Alexis Fleming and I’m thrilled to pieces to be one of the debut authors for Total-e-bound e-Books. It’s always a little daunting starting up with a new editor, but Claire Siemaszkiewicz, one of the owners of Total-e-bound and also my editor, has made it easy. She’s a dream to work for, although I must admit I wondered if she’d let me get away with the first couple of lines in the blurb for Sink Or Swim. Not everyone gets my quirky sense of humour.

Mind you, somewhere between now and August next year, I’ll need to learn how to pronounce her last name. I’m hoping to take a trip to England next year so I can meet my fabulous editor. Meanwhile, I need to finish up a couple of outstanding contracts I have with my other publishers so I can write the next saucy water-baby tale to send to Claire.

Alexis Fleming

Do mermaids have orgasms? Who knows, but she’d better find out quick before she exchanges her girly bits for fishy slits.

A mermaid who can’t swim? What could be worse?

When Samie McIntyre finds out she’s about to turn into a mermaid, a legacy of her selkie father and mermaid mother, she realizes she has one major problem. Well, er, maybe two… First, she can’t swim. And second, she has aqua-phobia. What good is a mermaid who’s afraid of the water? As far as she can see, there’s only one thing to do. Talk the sexy Jonah Billings into teaching her to swim.

And if she can convince him to indulge in a bit of horizontal wrestling before she becomes a pickled sardine, so much the better.

Here’s what Coffee Time Romance had to say:

“…Ms. Fleming shows the struggles they deal with and the heat they have between
them very well. I was impressed with how far she went and it had me reaching
for some ice water…Sink or Swim is one sizzling hot story!

~ 4 Cups – Krista – Coffee Time Romance

You could win a copy of this book by commenting here!

“What the heck do you think you’re doing?” he snapped in an effort to keep his mind off her body. “You trying to drown me? If you want to get rid of me, just say so and I’ll vacate. And take those stupid goggles off. It’s like talking to a goldfish with bug eyes.”

She whipped her hand up and tried to snatch the swim goggles off her head, grimacing when the strap snagged in her hair. “Damn, I’m caught. Give me a hand here, will you?”

No, no, no!

He didn’t want to do it, but he had no valid reason for refusing. Didn’t she realise that would put him within mouth…er, hand distance of her naked boobs?

With a tortured sigh, he shuffled closer and reached for the tangled goggles. As he sifted his hand through her lush red-gold waves, she rested her head against his chest. Heat hit him, forking through his body and lodging in the already hard appendage pushing at the front of his jeans. Hell, much more and he’d explode…or bust the zip of his pants at the very least.

After a few clumsy tugs and a lot of under-the-breath swearing, he managed to get the goggles free and dropped them into the water. Dividing her hair into two bunches, he dragged it forward over her shoulders. Her hair was so long it covered her breasts totally. He was finally able to breathe without struggling for oxygen.

“There. Now you look like a mermaid. One of those ones who sit on the rocks and lure the sailors to their deaths.” He grinned at her, only to have her start, twisting her body to look at him with what he could have sworn was shock. Her bright blue eyes opened wide. Her face paled beneath her tan and her hands shook as she covered her breasts, hair and all.

Water sloshed over the side of the bath at her movement, cascading down his front. Ah shit, at this rate, I’ll have had my bath before she’s finished.

He sighed. “Wanna tell me what you were doing?”

“I was trying to teach myself to swim, or at least how to float.”

“You what?” He started to laugh, cutting it off when he realised she was serious. “You can’t swim? But I see you on the beach all the time.”

“Yeah, but you never see me in the water, do you?” She shrugged and the hair parted over one nipple.

Jonah found his gaze sliding back to her chest. He gulped and stared fixedly at her face again. “I thought you were just like all the other beach bunnies, strutting around showing off your body in those cutesy bikinis you favour. Hell, most of the girls on the beach wear swimmers that would disintegrate if they so much as got them wet.”

She punched him on the arm. “I am not a beach bunny. I’m a hard-working business woman and I wear those cutesy bikinis as you call them to advertise my wares.”

He wiggled his eyebrows. “Well, they sure do that.” His gaze slid south and so did all the blood in his body. He tried to ignore the twitching of his cock. The bloody thing was talking again, telling him where it wanted to go. Sheeze.

“Okay, let me get this straight. You want to learn to swim.” He held up his hand. “Hang on, how come you haven’t learned before this? You live by the sea. You should know for safety sake. Most Aussie kids are thrown in at the deep end before they even hit school age.”

“Oh, my mother tried to teach me, but it didn’t take. I was too small to remember, but apparently she took me into the sea to start familiarizing me with the water and a freak wave swept me out of her arms. She said if it wasn’t for a big black bull seal pushing me back onto the beach, I would have drowned.”

A crack of laughter erupted out of his mouth before he could stop it. “Hah, I think your mother was telling you porkies. I’ve read documented cases where a dolphin saved someone, but a seal? Never heard of it. Not in his…er, its nature. The majority of bull seals are more like to eat a baby, thinking it’s a stray seal pup. Brutal, I know, but that’s nature.”

“My mother didn’t lie. Ever. Even if she hurt your feelings with the truth. You should know that. She told you off often enough before she went away.” She shrugged. “None of that matters now anyway. I have to learn to swim and there are a couple of problems. The first is I’m an aqua-phobic. I’ve been scared of water ever since I was a kid. The bathtub is about the most I can handle.”

“Well, that sure complicates thing.” He grinned. “What’s the second thing?”

Instead of answering him, she flicked her legs out from beneath her and lay back in the tub. “Before I can learn to swim, I have to be able to float. I think my boobs are too heavy. I keep sinking. Look.”

She stretched out, straightening her body. Her breasts broke the surface of the water, bobbing and jiggling as she displaced another wave of moisture down his front. Least of his worries right now. He was more concerned about hyperventilating at the titillating sight in front of him.

“Hell, that pair are more likely to act as a floatation device,” he mumbled and gingerly pushed himself to his feet, making certain he didn’t slip on the wet floor.

Samie’s butt hit the bottom of the tub as she screwed around to glare at Jonah. “You got a problem with the size of my boobs?” She ran her hands up her torso and cupped her breasts, pushing them together to create a valley in between.

“Um, not at all. I think they’re just perfect…ah, they–” He cleared his throat. “Um, your head’s not far enough back. No wonder you’re having trouble.”

She shook her head. “Sorry? You lost me there.”

“The reason why you keep sinking. It’s not the size of your…” He waved a hand towards her bare breasts. “…your chest. It’s your head. You need to angle it back more. And for crying out loud, you can’t learn in a bathtub. Not enough room.”

“Well, I have to do something. I need to be able to swim as soon as possible. Otherwise I’m screwed.”

© Alexis Fleming

Isn’t this fun? Wanna read this? Comment! Winner will be chosen tomorrow, so come back to find out whether you won. 

Alexis, thanks for guestblogging and for doing the giveaway!


10 Responses to “Alexis Fleming guestblogs!”


  1. July 3, 2007 at 12:39 pm

    lol, this sounds cute and funny.

  2. 2 Crystal B.
    July 3, 2007 at 2:39 pm

    Sounds great. I love the concept of a mermaid who can’t swim.

  3. 3 Cherie J
    July 3, 2007 at 8:11 pm

    Sounds like a fun read. The heroine sounds really spunky.

  4. July 3, 2007 at 9:33 pm

    LOL It was a lot of fun to write. I worried my hubby when I was writing it though, because I giggled all the way through it. Me and my quirky brain.

    Alex

  5. July 3, 2007 at 9:45 pm

    *snicker*

    Alex, at least you weren’t crying through the book! (I’ve had friends who tell me that it’s happened to them and I seriously worry about them)

  6. July 3, 2007 at 10:18 pm

    Okay, I have to win or buy it. I don’t think I’ve EVER heard of that plotline and it’s wonderful.

    I keep waiting to send something to Claire–she sounds great (I’m waiting for every publisher everywhere. Time to yank stuff?).

  7. July 4, 2007 at 1:47 am

    Sink or Swim sounds like a riot. Congrats, Alexis!

  8. July 4, 2007 at 2:48 am

    Kate, how much will you give me to win this? *ggg*

    (after this nobody will let me run their contests for them any more)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

