26
Jun
07

Beth Williamson: The Legacy

Noah Calhoun always felt like an outsider in the Malloy family, even though he’d been legally adopted at age fifteen by Nicky, the only sister in the pack. After an accident nearly kills his father, Tyler, Noah decides to leave and find his own place in the world. Using the skills his ex-bounty hunter father taught him, Noah finds a job as a small town sheriff. Rosalyn Benedict didn’t need a fresh-faced do-gooder sheriff trying to help her. She’d been surviving just fine on her own. Living on the streets since she was a child, Rosalyn was smarter, tougher, and stronger than most people ever hope to be.

With her stubbornness or his pigheadedness, will Noah and Rosalyn find that one place where they both belong?

One of the best things about The Legacy is how clearly Noah’s and Rosalyn’s voices are differentiated, especially Rosalyn’s.

Most of my favorite parts of the book are told in her POV. There’s just something about Rosalyn’s voice that clicks for me.

Noah is the hero I expected after ‘meeting’ him in the first Malloy book, The Bounty. Great continuity there.

This book essentially has two endings. One is the ending of the Malloy series, and the other is Rosalyn and Noah’s.

It is the ending of the Malloy series that I’ve a quibble with, and admittedly, this is a personal quirk. It irritates me to read endings where everyone’s happy happy happy.

But it’s worth a read, and while I’ve not read books 2-6 of the Malloy series, I think this is a great example of ending a series while the series is still good.

The Legacy rates 3.5 out of 5.


9 Responses to “Beth Williamson: The Legacy”


  1. 1 Ali
    June 26, 2007 at 10:55 pm

    Two endings is right *sob*
    I like happy happy endings, lol :)

  2. 2 Becky
    June 26, 2007 at 10:58 pm

    I’m kind of sad to see the Malloy series end. I love your cowboys so much Beth! They’re the kind that don’t just make your heart go pitter patter they make it go thump-thump into overdrive. lol I remember Noah and all I’ve got to say is Rosalyn is one lucky woman. :)

  3. June 27, 2007 at 12:06 am

    Ali – me too. LOL! I guess that’s why I write romance. I can make my own! :D

    Becky – I’m kinda sad too but glad too. It was a great series to start my writing career and now I’m moving on to more, grittier stories. Still bringing the cowboys, but my Devils series is a bit darker. I hope you’ll love it!

  4. 4 linda bass
    June 27, 2007 at 12:24 am

    mmmmmmm cowboys! wearing no pants?????? hubba hubba o know where he can stick his 6 shooter! oh please continue it beth.

  5. June 27, 2007 at 2:54 am

    Happy Endigns are good, especially at the end of the series. I mean, come one, we all know the Malloys, and we realize just because the series is ending it doesn’t mean their lives are. ANd they’re always in some sort of trouble.

    Hmm, does that sound a little to uhmm “into” them? LOL

  6. 6 Becky
    June 27, 2007 at 3:53 am

    Hey, Beth? Where can I find info on your Devil Series? I would really like to know about it. :)

  7. June 27, 2007 at 1:40 pm

    Hey Becky, book 1, Nate is here:

    http://samhainpublishing.com/coming/devils-on-horseback-nate

    Book 2, Jake, just got a contract. Woot! It’s on my Coming Soon page now:

    http://www.bethwilliamson.com/books/comingsoon

  8. 8 Cherie J
    June 27, 2007 at 5:19 pm

    I know all good things must come to an end but it is still hard to take. I have to get this book. I enjoy it when an author uses POV to differentiate the heroine’s thoughts from the heroes. Thanks for blogging Beth!

  9. 9 Becky
    June 27, 2007 at 8:16 pm

    Thanks Beth! I’m checking them out now. I mean the book now the guy. lol Well ok, so maybe I’m looking at the guy more than the book. *as her eyes to the hot guys butt* But can you blame me? LOL


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

