26
Jun
07

Beth Williamson Flies Like a Bat(ty Wonder)…out of the Lap-top?

Note: Beth originally titled it Coming Out…of the Laptop? but I decided to get a little creative…

I don’t think I’d call it a closet, per se, but coming out of the laptop I’ve hidden behind (I’m not a shiny stripper like Shannon dammit). You see, many people don’t know I write sensual/erotic romance (it’s all in what words you want to use). I live in the middle of what’s called the bible belt in North Carolina with a Baptist church on every corner (there’s one on the other side of my back yard – eep!). So I’ve kept mostly quiet the last two and a half years since I’ve been published.

Until recently anyway. That’s when I decided to ah, come clean. *snerk*

One of the ladies in my neighborhood found out I wrote romance novels and she loooves them (so she’s automatically my peep). I told her my pen name and that I had four books in print (at the time). When I ran into her months later, she told me she’d bought The Treasure and loved it. I was pleased silly and thanked her.

Then she decided to pick my book for the neighborhood book club. It’s a small neighborhood, about 20 houses or so. At first they didn’t invite me to the book club (WTF?) – suffice it to say that my status as a published author intimidated them. *snort* As if I am in any way, shape, or form intimidating. As they’re looking at the book, they’re all like what is that red writing? Um, that means there’s sex in it. *hoots of laughter* They read the back cover blurb and everyone joins in with more hoots and hollers. “Bring it on!” they all shout.

Ahem, so I uh, came out of the laptop. *BG*

So they read The Treasure , book 4 in the Malloy family series. Sex wise, it’s not the tamest, but definitely not the hottest of the books. It’s explicit, for sure, but the sex is all in the context of the story.

Anyhoo, everyone was tittering and giggling. I got more than one remark like “Who knew? Quiet you writes sexy books?”

I brought buttons, bookmarks and a copy of the next book in the series, The Gift, as a doorprize.

Let me just say my book club blew me away.

These ladies are READERS, real honest-to-God readers that spend a great deal of their spare time reading. Except for one or two of these ladies (13 in all were there), none of them read romance. I felt like a million dollars when I heard them talking about how much they loved the story, that my characters were so real to them. It was freakin’ awesome!

Now I’ve stepped forward at work and told everyone I wrote spicy novels with lots of sex. “These ain’t your mama’s bodice rippers.” *LOL*

So here I am, full of piss and vinegar, and a triumph in my own little book club and announcing to all and sundry that I wrote hot, sexy shit. Personally people see the sweet, innocent side of me and think, nope, can’t be.

Oh but it can. I’ve got a dark, passionate side that comes out at night. *cue the Barry White song* You’ve only to crack the cover of my book (no pun intended there) to see just how far I can go.

Or is that come?

Beth Williamson

The Legacy will be released today from Samhain Publishing

Her upcoming releases include Marielle’s Marshal (August 31st), Devils on Horseback: Nate (September 25th), and Branded (November 6th), all from Samhain Publishing.

She also blogs at Writers Across Time and Passionate Prose.

Remember to comment. There’s a contest!


2 Responses to “Beth Williamson Flies Like a Bat(ty Wonder)…out of the Lap-top?”


  1. 1 Ali
    June 27, 2007 at 5:31 am

    Now I have ‘Let’s get it on’ by Barry stuck in my head, lol

  2. June 27, 2007 at 1:52 pm

    *snicker*
    My evil plan is working.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

