22
Jun
07

Introducing Annie Dean

Is Annie Dean as wild as James Dean was? Maybe. I do know her imagination is surely as wild and as hot.

But perhaps not as insane, since she claims that her Insanity Quotient is just six:

6. Between waiting for news on an impending sale, struggling for some peace and quiet to write while people tromp in and out, and the kids suddenly high maintenance pleas for attention, I desperately need a vacation. Not a family vacation where I wind up more tired than before we left, but a writing retreat. Where I take the trusty Ibook to a quiet spot and stay there for two or three days.

I feel like I should maybe ask one of her blogger friends whether this is the truth. Six is very low for members of the Insanity Posse. I think the current average is about 8.75. Maybe we should do something to up it, just so she’ll fit in better…

But it’s not nice to be mean to superheroines like Annie Dean. She’s so brave, she does the superheroine thang as herself. No hiding behind a silly pseudonym–or so she says.
I did try to get my hands on her superSekrit superheroine file, but that ruined two of my computers (they exploded!). I think maybe she’s hiding something. Like a pseudonym. And what she tells me is her superSekrit superpower.

Or maybe she isn’t really a superheroine. Hmm… This idea has possibilities. I mean, her Insanity Quotient is a mere 6.5!

So, discuss! Is Annie Dean aka Ann Aguirre a superheroine…or is she not?

Boys and girls, though I suppose it’s mostly girls, we have a guestblog, a contest, an excerpt and possibly a review of her first Ann Aguirre title, Stone Maiden, coming up. This time, I’ll even remember to post the copyright notice.

6 Responses to “Introducing Annie Dean”


  1. June 22, 2007 at 2:31 am

    I’ve dropped in at Ann(ie)’s place a few times and she’s been to mine.

    Superhero, indeed. And darn cool, too.

  2. 2 bam
    June 22, 2007 at 3:00 am

    She’s probably one of the coolest people I’ve ever known… but I haven’t met the Winchester Brothers in person (or Ann(ie) either, for that matter).

    Don’t let that seemingly nice and affable facade fool you, though. She’ll cut ‘chu. Bitch-crazy.

    I call her my “enforcer”. :)

  3. June 22, 2007 at 3:37 am

    Oh man.

    Well, y’know, I filled out that questionnaire a month ago. The “impending sale” I mentioned has been SOLD, I have four new deadlines, edits and revisions, my first trip to Dallas for National, followed by cocktail party with Penguin bigwigs on Friday night. Meanwhile I have kids with vacations and summer camps to go on…

    You could safely mark my insanity level at 8.5 at this point.

    As for the whole pseudonym thing, I just can’t pretend I’m not writing under both names. I mean, dude. Like I could pretend to be two people. I have a hard enough time just being me.

    My former agent insisted I use two separate names if I wanted to write across genres. I don’t disagree with that because it makes it easier for readers to classify my work.

    Annie Dean title = quirky romance and smoking hot sex
    Ann Aguirre title = darker themes, less explicit sex, and lots of ass-kicking action

  4. 4 bam
    June 22, 2007 at 3:43 am

    Inquiring minds want to know: under what name will you write ass-kicking smoking hot sex?

  5. June 22, 2007 at 4:02 am

    Brooks Scarlet, of course.

  6. June 23, 2007 at 1:30 am

    I didn’t know she writes as Ann Aguirre. Stone Maiden looks good.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

