19
Jun
07

Nopinionated

Even though this is my blog, I don’t always see it as my place to share my point of view, believe it or not. I’d honestly rather that you take what I say with many grains of salt (unless I’m raving about a book, in which case you should get your ass out to the stores and buy it *ggg* even if you are JM Carr).

In a sense, there’s the Blog-Me and there’s Me-Minus-Blog-Me. Me-Minus-Blog-Me doesn’t really get the let it all hang out mentality of Blog-Me.

Once in awhile, it’s not that I have Nopinion, but rather that I’ve an Opinion, and decided to shut up about it. It’s a good thing that like PBW, I like to write, and draft and redraft–by the time this goes up, it will have been through half a dozen rewrites, and my Romancing The Blog posts often have more. Otherwise… *shakes head* I’ve a temper, and occasionally it runs away from me. So yeah, I do sometimes censor myself.

The more important, I think, reason is simply that I often have Nopinion (unless it’s about books, because when it comes to books, I’m always right *ggg* unless you’re JM Carr).

Take Jaid Black. She gives her side of the story on JaynieR‘s blog, and KarenS discusses it on her own blog as well.

Me, I think Ms Black is brave to talk about it so openly, but I also see that there is a reason why bravery is often a synonym for stupidity–FYI, I do admire Ms Black for what she has achieved. Perhaps the right word is foolishness, not stupidity.

But I’ve Nopinion about what Ms Black actually said. In some ways, I’m more curious about what other people think of what she said than anything else.

That’s mostly why I started The Stalker and Wednesday Web Wanderer, because it’s not much of a blog post if I just post a something with one link and that’s it.

I’ll also take the opportunity to say this: I’d love it if you guys came back more often to tell me what you think of the blogs/articles etc I’ve linked to.

And no, I’m not planning to change my blog title to Nopinionista. ;) But the original one is quite a good read, and this is one of my favorite Opinionista posts.

PS I don’t have anything against JM. She’s very nice, and hopefully she’ll forgive me for poking fun at her. To understand why I’ve mentioned her twice, please check out the comments in this post.

14 Responses to “Nopinionated”


  1. June 19, 2007 at 3:25 pm

    Sometimes I think it would be easy to have no opinion lol. At others I just shut up because I don’t think my opinion is relevant. Then again, after a bottle of wine I tend to think my opinion is the most important in the Western world *g*

  2. June 19, 2007 at 3:56 pm

    And that is why I don’t drink. *g*

    I’ve very little tolerance for alcohol.

  3. June 19, 2007 at 4:20 pm

    Oh, I’ve got opinions. Lots of em. Some I discuss online. Some I don’t.

    Mostly the stuff that relates to my personal life, I don’t discuss period, no matter how it influences or affects things for me, because personal stuff is personal.

    But I’m also the private type…hence why there are so few pics of me online. :OP

  4. June 19, 2007 at 4:31 pm

    You see, Shiloh, it’s precisely because you make so much of it that we do as well.

    When it comes to my personal life…it depends.

  5. June 19, 2007 at 4:47 pm

    ;p yeah… but it’s gotten to be sort of fun.

  6. June 19, 2007 at 5:26 pm

    I still don’t see how that is brave in any sense of the word.

    But I am odd like that I guess…

  7. June 19, 2007 at 5:32 pm

    Hehehe. Yeah. It is fun, Shiloh, even for me as Jaynie rejoices at my expense. Sigh.

    Sybil, no, you’re not odd. I couldn’t do that, not without some semblance of anonymity–and even this is fast going, which is why so much of this blog’s content lately has been interviews and stuff. So I consider it brave of her, because she can.

  8. June 19, 2007 at 7:05 pm

    I guess that depends on your opinion of bravery. I think to mislead people about the nature of the murder about the legal justice system; and then to call for affirmative action in the form of voting against politicians on the basis of that incorrect information isn’t really brave but rather self serving and ignorant.

  9. June 19, 2007 at 7:19 pm

    I wasn’t talking about the legal justice system. I know nothing about it, and that is why I have Nopinion on that particular issue.

    But the very fact that she married a man who is in prison for murder, that it is clear that her children have a relationship with him and that she is willing to discuss that in a public forum where she is likely to take flack for it? Yeah.

    I have a feeling we should just agree to disagree and leave it at that, Jane.

  10. June 20, 2007 at 1:03 am

    lol May – I’m thinking your brave to even bring it up again and risk getting jumped on.

    See you at lunch.

  11. June 20, 2007 at 2:09 am

    But the very fact that she married a man who is in prison for murder, that it is clear that her children have a relationship with him and that she is willing to discuss that in a public forum where she is likely to take flack for it? Yeah.

    hmmm well I can’t see putting her children at risk with a murder who tried to shot a 14 year old as brave. I see it as a lot of things… brave isn’t one of them.

    Of course I didn’t know you could only post on blogs if you agreed or you were ‘jumping on’ the blogger so I am guessing I am missing a lot of things all the way around. Who knew…

  12. June 22, 2007 at 3:11 pm

    Why has no one brought up Daniele Steele’s marriage to a convicted rapist? It takes all kinds to make a weird world.

  13. June 22, 2007 at 3:22 pm

    *eyes widen* I didn’t know that. LOL.

  14. 14 Fawlty
    June 24, 2007 at 9:26 pm

    Danielle Steel’s situation is a bit different but interesting. When she underwent a jailhouse ceremony with Danny Zugelder he was a convicted bank robber. I think he also had a statutory rape charge.

    After the marriage was when he mugged an elderly lady to steal her purse and committed the other rapes.

    According to the information I found on the relationship, Steel tried to fit him into her life but he was not capable of making the adjustment. In fact his behavior was appalling. If you want more details google “Danielle Steel: Between the Covers”.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

