12
Jun
07

Shannon Stacey: Taming Eliza Jane

When a man sets out to tame a strong-willed woman, he’d best hang on to his hat.Will Martinson, the town doctor, already has a heap of troubles on his plate, what with a pregnant whore, an ailing friend and a sheriff with a bad habit of shooting people. The last thing he needs is a strong hankering for a woman who thinks it’s her duty to turn a man’s life upside-down.Eliza Jane Carter is a woman on a mission. She’s going to improve the lives of the women in Gardiner, Texas before moving on to the next town. But when her finances take a turn for the worse and her chaperone heads for the hills, Eliza Jane is stranded in a town full of riled up menfolk, a gun-happy sheriff and one handsome doctor who makes her question everything she ever believed about the love between a man and a woman.

I honestly wasn’t going to read Taming Eliza Jane the moment I got my hands on it. All I was planning to do was open the file to make sure it came through in one piece.

Then I thought I’d just take a peek at the first chapter. And I was sunk. I read it cover to cover (figuratively because this is an ebook) in less than an hour.

The first half is stronger than the second half. Part of it was that the first half was just good fun. Had me giggling out loud, and that rarely happens.

It was once Eliza Jane and Will’s relationship turned serious that I liked it less. The pacing was weaker as well, which certainly didn’t help.

I’m not one who wants or needs tidy endings, though I would have liked So-and-so to have been caught for it.

But the epilogue made up for most of the shortcomings, and I cannot wait for Becoming Miss Becky!

This rates 4 out of 5.

PS Shannon Stacey is guestblogging for me, and this is an ARC from the publisher, Samhain Publishing.


10 Responses to “Shannon Stacey: Taming Eliza Jane”


  1. June 12, 2007 at 4:15 am

    Yay – more Shannon stuff. I lurves Shannon. Although I’m not sure I have time for her to be guest blogging when she should be writing me the next installment in the Devlin Group series. :-D I mean really!

  2. June 12, 2007 at 9:58 am

    Is that what she’s writing? I’m not sure. I know the book she recently sold is Taming Miss Becky, the sequel to this book, and I can’t wait to read it!

  3. 3 Shan
    June 12, 2007 at 2:27 pm

    Woot! I’ll happily take a 4. :) And I’m glad you mostly liked it!

    And I’m working on both—Becoming Miss Becky and the untitled DG# (Gallagher’s book). Because they’re so different, I like switching back and forth.

  4. June 12, 2007 at 2:27 pm

    Well she should be writing it if she isn’t. That’s all I’m saying. Shan, are you reading this? LOL

  5. June 12, 2007 at 2:39 pm

    I imagine she is reading this, Michelle. *ggg*

    I’m rooting for BMB!

  6. June 12, 2007 at 10:48 pm

    That’s hilarious – we both posted at the same time and I didn’t even notice because after I posted I zipped right away.

  7. 8 Cathie
    June 13, 2007 at 8:50 am

    I still get goosebumps with the cover and now reading the excerpt! It rocked and to know there will be another book is cool!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

