28
May
07

Candace Havens: Charmed & Dangerous

Monday, 11 P.M.

Sweet, Texas

Spells: 2

Dead Guys: 0

Cute guys I want to sleep with: 1

I know my purpose: To rid the world of evil, one bad guy at a time.

When I turned twenty, I took the oath to protect, and for the last five years I’ve kept that promise. Currently, I’ve got a gig as a kind of one-witch secret service to the British Prime Minister–using a combination of potions, spells, explosions, mind-reading, and general butt-kicking skills, I’ve saved him from so many assassins we’ve quit counting. Umm, did I mention explosions? Yeah, well, we all have our talents, and mine’s combustion.

After that recent incident when those stupid warlocks tried to sacrifice me, I’ve decided I’m going to write everything down. That way if some creep knocks me off, someone will know what happened. But hopefully this diary won’t be all about maiming and killing. I’d like to write some sexy bits, too. Especially about Dr. Sam, who’s smart, funny, adorable, everything I’d want in a man–except he’s a warlock. Sorry, that’s a big no-no in Bronwyn’s book of dating material. I might as well face it: witches don’t do so well in the boyfriend department. Somehow, men find me a tad intimidating. I can’t imagine why…

Are there no British witches to guard the British PM? I just can’t get past this. And letting her listen in on political stuff? Um… Maybe I’ve read too many spy books, but doesn’t the PM ever worry about Bronwyn spilling to the CIA or something? Since she’s an American?

The diary format doesn’t quite work for me in Charmed & Dangerous, though it has before.

The last third of the book sucks. Suddenly, dozens of things happen…you know, it’s a series. It’s not even being sold as a romance. We don’t need a HEA in this book, so why is it being rushed?

This rates 2 out of 5.

5 Responses to “Candace Havens: Charmed & Dangerous”


  1. May 29, 2007 at 4:38 pm

    Not that I’m going to get political, May, but no, I don’t imagine people are queuing up for the job of looking after Our Leader….witches or no.

  2. May 29, 2007 at 5:31 pm

    ROFL!

    Havens doesn’t name him. He’s always the PM. Or if she did, she made up a name.

  3. May 30, 2007 at 11:57 am

    “Havens doesn’t name him. He’s always the PM. Or if she did, she made up a name.”

    I could make up a few names for him too.

    ; )

  4. June 6, 2007 at 5:19 pm

    Wow, that one really hurts. -Candy


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

