14
May
07

Jennifer Estep Talks To Us

I first heard of Jennifer Estep on Magical Musings, when she guestblogged there for the first time.

Then Sybil invited Jennifer to guestblog as well.

But it was only after reading her second Romancing The Blog column that I emailed her about coming by my blog, supposedly for her second release, Hot Mama. It didn’t occur to me that both of us would be mad enough to try and put this together in days.

So here she is, with an 8.5 IQ (that’s Insanity Quotient, not Intelligence Quotient peeps).

So, my first book, “KARMA GIRL,” came out on May 1. It’s about an investigative reporter who exposes the secret identities of comic book-type superheroes and villains – until she falls for one. Needless to say, I’m still glowing. Like radioactive glowing. Seriously, I could melt the polar ice caps with just my smile.

As any author can tell you, it’s a long, long, looong process from the time you sign that contract until your book actually hits the shelves. During the past year, through all the revisions and editing and waiting, I’ve had several folks tell me the same thing – that my life would change once the book came out. And I started to wonder – would it? Would it really change?

Because I’m still the same me. Sassy, sarcastic, slightly crazy. I still have to get up and go to work every day. Still have bills to pay and chores to do and more books to write.

Well, I’m two weeks past my release date now, and I can tell you that my life has changed.

A little bit.

Because now, I actually have a book out. It’s not theoretical or coming soon. It’s on the shelves. People look at me with a little more respect. Value my opinion more. Listen to me a little closer. But, I’m still going to my day job and still paying bills and still cleaning the bathroom every week.

In other words, I’m not a superdiva – yet. I’m working on it, though. It’s all part of my plan of world domination, one reader, one book, one blog at a time. Wha-ha-ha! … Oh, wait. The ubervillain should never reveal her master plan before she kills the heroes. That’s when disaster strikes …

Ahem. Moving on. Since I’m still feeling the book-release glow, I thought I’d share the best five and worst five things I’ve experienced in the two weeks or so I’ve been published.

Top 5 Things About Being a Published Author

  1. Readers who e-mail me or post blog comments to say how much they enjoyed my book. That I made them laugh and smile, if only for a little while. That they loved the story and can’t wait to read the next book in the series. There’s absolutely nothing better than that. Best. Feeling. In. The. World!
  2. Actually going into my local Barnes & Noble and seeing my book on the shelf, right alongside ones by Kim Harrison and J.R. Ward and all the other bigtime authors. My book is touching Christine Feehan’s book! Whoo!
  3. Seeing someone flipping through my book at the store, sidling up to her, and casually pumping her for information to see if she’s going to buy it or not. And then, casually introducing myself and slipping her some bookmarks to sweeten the pot, so to speak.
  4. Being able to whip out a copy at dinner and other social gatherings whenever friends or family ask the dreaded question – How’s that writing business coming along?
  5. Realizing that “KARMA GIRL” is finally done. No more writing. No more revisions. No more editing. No more waiting. Ever. It has been published, and no one can ever take this accomplishment, this feeling, away from me. Ever.

Worst 5 Things About being a Published Author

  1. Getting bad reviews. Good reviews can build you up. Bad ones tear you down pretty quick. I try to be as zen about them as I can, but they still zing me a little bit.
  2. Actually going into my local Barnes & Noble and seeing my book on the shelf looking dusty and unloved and like no one has bought a copy – ever. My book isn’t touching Christine Feehan’s book anymore – because it’s sitting on the shelf all alone, lost and forlorn and bereft of all hope of every going home with a reader.
  3. Seeing someone flipping through my book at the store, sidling up to them, and then watching as they put it back on the shelf, grab the latest Nora Roberts’ release, and head for the checkout counter.
  4. Whipping out a copy to friends and family in answer to their question and have them say something dismissive like – Oh, that’s nice, dear – before they go back to the buffet.
  5. Realizing that my second book, “HOT MAMA,” is coming out in six months – and that I need to get my butt in gear and start mailing out bookmarks and doing other promo for it. Because I’m already jonesing for my next book-release glow. It’s good for the skin, if nothing else.

What about you? What are the best and worst things about being an author? Inquiring minds want to know …


2 Responses to “Jennifer Estep Talks To Us”


  1. May 14, 2007 at 11:58 pm

    Waving hi, Jennifer! It sounds like you spend a lot of time in Barnes & Noble, lol. I can’t imagine anyone not being impressed. It’s major to write a book and get it published. Now I’m eager for Hot Mama to come out.

  2. May 15, 2007 at 1:23 pm

    Hi, Edie! I’m lucky in that there is a B&N, BAM, Waldenbooks, and B Dalton in my area. So yeah, I’ve gone around to most of them to check out how and where the book was placed.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

