14
May
07

Introducing Jennifer Estep

According to her official bio, Jennifer Estep works at a newspaper by day, and “prowls the streets of her imagination by night.”

Hah!

What she actually does is prowl the streets as pseudonymous superheroine Jellyfer Extra-Alcoholic. That’s why she knows so much about superheroes, and I bet she knows all the hot gossip.

After all, Jellyfer’s superpower is that she makes the most wonderful JellO Shots, and just one of them should have you spilling all your secrets to all and sundry. It’s said that she can create JellO Shots that

She does love her Amaretto sours (I honestly wouldn’t say anything about mixed drinks being girly because, you know, she is a pseudonymous superheroine), and in her honor, we have a Amaretto Sour JellO Shot recipe for you:

1 large box Lime Jell-O
1 cup boiling water
1/2 cup Amaretto
1 tablespoon lemon juice

Dissolve JellO in the boiling water. Add the lemon juice.

Let cool a little (but not set) before adding the Amaretto–this prevents excess alcohol evaporation which, as we all know, is a Very Bad Thing. Possibly worthy of calling in a pseudonymous superheroine.

Pour into your prepared pan and allow to set before slicing.

 Jellyfer has a secret laboratory where she spends a great deal of time formulating new JellO Shot recipes. One would think that standing over pots of alcohol would make one drunk but Jellyfer? She is Extra-Alcoholic for a reason, and I dare you to try get her drunk at a con.

That, of course, leaves with us this question: where does she find the time to write?

The answer may lie in the rumors I’ve been hearing about Jellyfer. Rumors about her having a secret superpower…the ability to manipulate time.

Hmm…does that mean Jellyfer needs a superheroine name? Jell-O Shots meets Time Management?

On the other hand, she claims to have an insanity quotient of 8.5:

Like I say in the blog, I’m still glowing from the release. But … I’ve still got to work every day. I have a special graduation work project that starts in a week. I have seven booksignings this month and more interviews and blogs to do. I need to finish up the third round of editing on two books, and start writing another one — and try to finish the rough draft before RWA. Ahh! I need a clone!

Someone who can manipulate time probably wouldn’t need a clone, right? So does Jellyfer Extra-Alcoholic, better known for the moment as Jennifer Estep, have a secret superpower or not?

I’ll leave you to ponder that, and just so you know, sharing your ponderings with us could win you a copy of KARMA GIRL and some lovely bookmarks!

Spilling the deets on why you want to read KARMA GIRL, what you thought of it if you’ve read it and whether Jellyfer Extra-Alcoholic can manipulate time or not gets you one entry each into the draw, and you can enter twice. ;)

14 Responses to “Introducing Jennifer Estep”


  1. 1 celeber
    May 14, 2007 at 6:26 pm

    I have read Karma Girl and absolutely loved it. I handed it off to the husband so he could enjoy the fun as well. I am looking forward to her second release this year and will definitely be pre-ordering so I can have it on my doorstep on the release date.

  2. May 14, 2007 at 7:29 pm

    Hi, Celeber! Hope you are doing well. I remember your comment on my blog about Karma Girl, and I’ve seen your name pop up when I’ve googled the book. I’m so glad you enjoyed it, and thanks so much for recommending it to other people. ;-)

  3. 3 Crystal B.
    May 14, 2007 at 8:17 pm

    I have always been a big fan of super heroes. When I was a child, my cousin and I would imitate the Wonder Twins, Wonder Woman and Bat Girl.
    Karma Girl sounds like a book I would really enjoy. Love your book covers.

  4. May 14, 2007 at 8:31 pm

    Hi, Crystal. I used to pretend I was Wonder Woman too when I was a kid. :-) I also really liked Firestar from the old Spider-Man cartoon.

    I think the covers are really awesome too. They really capture the spirit of the books.

  5. May 15, 2007 at 2:06 am

    Okay, I live under a rock and haven’t heard of Jennifer and her books until now, but am scrambling to add them to my wish list!

  6. May 15, 2007 at 10:22 am

    I’d certainly like to know how she juggles everything!

  7. 7 Little Lamb Lost
    May 15, 2007 at 2:47 pm

    Haven’t read it. I loved the title of the book. When I read the blurb, I thought it sounded like grand fun. Been fascinated with the idea of super heroes since I was a kid, could be even more fun now that I am all grown up.

    Regarding the ability to manipulate time, would not surprise me if she could considering her schedule.

  8. May 15, 2007 at 4:59 pm

    If only I could manipulate time, it would make things so much easier! Seriously, though, I just work on stuff whenever and wherever I can. At home, on my lunch break, sitting in the dentist’s office :smile:

  9. May 15, 2007 at 7:12 pm

    Isn’t it hard to see what you’re writing with the dentist’s light shining in your eyes like that?

    Or do you just envision how things will go and save the writing for later?

  10. May 15, 2007 at 11:17 pm

    Oh, I work while I’m waiting to actually see the dentist, i.e. sitting in the waiting room. While I’m in the chair, I usually watch Food Network since my dentist has TVs mounted over the patient chairs. :grin:

  11. 11 Amy S.
    May 16, 2007 at 1:45 pm

    Karma Girl sounds really good.

  12. May 17, 2007 at 1:00 pm

    So funny reading this. You and May make a great pair.

    The last time I was at the dentist, I watched the country music network. The hygenist cleaning my teeth kept stopping to watch the performers. And when the dentist came in to check my teeth, she did the same thing. Next time I’ll watch the Food Network too.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

