11
May
07

The Review Thang

If you guys didn’t know, my grades used to be calculated thusly:

  1. I start everyone at 2.5.
  2. I subtracted and added as I read the book.
  3. Then the final number I get is the grade.

I’ve come to realise that it’s not a very good way of grading books simply because I’ve given authors 4-5 scores without wanting to read more books by them. Therefore it’s not the most reliable format.

So my new grading scheme is this:

5 is only for keepers. This includes all PBW books.

4.5 is for books I think are in the same range as books with a score of 5, but for reasons unknown to me, are not a keeper. But I will be reading that author again.
4 is for books that are, again, in the same range as 4.5 and 5, but I will not be reading the author again.

3.5 is for readable books and I’ll read the author again.

3 is also for readable books, but I won’t be reading the author again.

2.5 is for passable. Book did nothing for me though.

2 and below is for Don’t Waste Your Money, and Time is Money. For 2, though, I’d consider reading the author again if it’s a recommend from a trusted source.

This is applicable only to all reviews from today onwards.

13 Responses to “The Review Thang”


  1. May 11, 2007 at 12:41 pm

    Excellent! My grading is similar, though I’m more lenient about keeping books, so I’ll have some keepers that are rated 4.

    And I have a 5+ rating, which goes to those rare books that just take my breath away.

  2. May 11, 2007 at 3:15 pm

    Thanks Darla!

    Hmm… a 5+ rating. Something to think about, I think.

  3. May 11, 2007 at 3:26 pm

    I’m confused already. *ggg*

  4. May 11, 2007 at 4:27 pm

    Well then, just consider getting any book that’s rated 4 and above. ;)

  5. 5 Ann
    May 11, 2007 at 5:18 pm

    Ya know, that actually made sense to me. The other ratings always seem to me to be too subjective, at least this way the subjectivity is defined (if that makes sense). But that could just be me :).

  6. May 11, 2007 at 5:56 pm

    I’m confused, too. Must be time for more coffee.

  7. May 11, 2007 at 5:57 pm

    Thanks Ann.

    It’s only Jordan who doesn’t understand it then. That’s okay. We all know she’s a little weird. ;)

  8. May 11, 2007 at 6:01 pm

    Or not. Charlene doesn’t either.

    Maybe writing all that sex has corrupted the workings of their respective brains.

    If that’s how it happened, I want to write sex too!

  9. May 11, 2007 at 8:50 pm

    ROFL. I’ll plead the fifth. Me and my overheated imagination…

  10. May 12, 2007 at 3:06 am

    I had a thought, an expansion on your ratings. 4 points and 4 1/2 points are books you would share with friends, 5 points and 5 1/2 point books are “no way, get your own damned book” *g*. What do you think?

  11. May 12, 2007 at 1:18 pm

    Charlene, it’s okay. We just have to read your books…

    Ann, I’m going to be editing this when I remember, so that I can post this as a page, and when I do that, I’ll include your suggestion. Thanks!

  12. May 12, 2007 at 5:36 pm

    I’m confused because you’ll read a 3.5 author again, but not a 4?Does this mean I shouldn’t send you a copy of Unveiling the Sorceress after all? :)

  13. May 12, 2007 at 5:43 pm

    Saskia, by all means, send a copy! (Or wait until I get to the UK if you want) These guidelines are only for reviews that are posted from today onwards.

    And I think I’m going to need to tweak the guidelines because short stories/novellas are different.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

