11
May
07

To An Author Without Real Fans

This is by no means an attack on all authors. I understand that in choosing not to name names, it could read as though I’m tarring a lot of you with the same brush. But this is certainly not the case. In my eighteen months of blogging, Author Without Real Fans is one author and the only author with whom I’ve had a bad experience.

Dear Author Without Real Fans,

I know I’m just a reader blogger.

I also know reviewers from established review sites etc liked your book. Raved about it, even. Would that I had been able to do the same without my conscience bugging me, I would have done so.

I even welcome your response to my review of your book, even if it was a negative response.

Likewise, I don’t have a problem if an author’s fans come by to tell me that they liked a book I hated. I quite understand that not everybody will have the same opinion of a book as me.

Except your “fans” weren’t quite your “fans.” It’s rather suspicious your “fans” have the same IP address as yourself, don’t you think?

Yours in disgust, May

I don’t, at the moment, intend to out this author because I don’t want to give her more free advertising.

Some of you know who I am talking about, and I’d appreciate it if you don’t mention her name in comments. This is my blog, my turf and I reserve the right to edit or delete comments that mention her and I will close the comments to this post if I feel there is a need to do so.

10 Responses to “To An Author Without Real Fans”


  1. May 11, 2007 at 1:45 am

    I actually do kind of think it’s in bad taste when authors respond to reviews of their books (unless they already are a regular reader of the reviewer’s blog, say). Better to sit back, enjoy lurking, and let the folks who are actually enjoying talking about your work continue to do so without throwing cold authorial water over the hold conversation, I think.

  2. 2 meljeanbrook
    May 11, 2007 at 2:56 am

    Hell, I feel uncomfortable responding even if it is a regular blog. Sending an e-mail is often so much easier.

    And *shaking head* on the fake names.

  3. May 11, 2007 at 3:00 am

    Now you make me want to know who she is!!!!!!

    I agree with Janni. It’s better not to respond to any reviews if you’re an author.

  4. May 11, 2007 at 9:47 am

    Janni, for most part, I think authors who have commented on my reviews were authors who have been reading my blog, unless they googled their names and found a good review of their work.

    Meljean, it’s fine if the author tells me she didn’t like me review. It’s not fine if she uses fake names to tell me that “other people who don’t really exist” liked it!

    Angelle, to be honest, I’m on the fence on that one. I don’t see anything wrong with an author taking the time to say “thanks for reviewing my book” etc. What I see is as the problem is that it ups the chances of the author saying the wrong thing. Whether an author should take that risk or not, I don’t know.

  5. May 11, 2007 at 4:58 pm

    Oooookay, now I’m curious… if only because I would on principle avoid an author who pulled that crap.

    I don’t necessarily agree that an author has to avoid responding to reviews of her own work. It’s certainly the wisest course of action, because many authors aren’t detached enough from their work to look at the review objectively. (I’ve seen many, many published authors throw hissy fits over a review that was good but had a line or two of criticism. They ignored all the raving about how much the reviewer loved the book and zeroed in on the couple things the reviewer didn’t like. *sigh*)

    However, to then post pretending to be your fans in defense of your work? Utterly despicable.

  6. May 11, 2007 at 5:57 pm

    Nonny, I’d not bat an eye about an author throwing a hissy fit over a review on my blog (hasn’t happened yet, and hopefully never will). I wouldn’t even delete it. But this? I was amazed, and you’re absolutely right. Utterly despicable is a good description for her.

  7. May 11, 2007 at 6:52 pm

    Sorry to hear that someone had to paint themselves stupid on your blog. I think it’s just tacky a hell to argue with a reviewer in public. Not everyone likes everything and why get all pissy about it? It only makes the author look like a jerk.
    Every once in a while I run across someone’s review of my book and it’s so nice, or so smart–even if it picks the book apart–that I want to say “hey, thanks, that was a good review.” But I usually don’t since I don’t respond to anyone else’s public reviews–e-mail is a different matter.

  8. May 11, 2007 at 7:22 pm

    Thanks Kat.

    To be honest, part of me is totally puzzled. Why? I mean, getting pissy about a bad review? I understand that. I expect that you’d probably rant about me to your friends if I trashed your book, or you might even do it in public on my blog.

    But this? Doesn’t make sense to me at all. Unless I’m meant to be flattered that you’re soooo worried that people who read my review won’t buy your book.

  9. May 12, 2007 at 3:29 am

    I agree it doesn’t make a lot of sense to send sock puppets. It’s not hard to discover that they all have the same IP. Perhaps the author wants to be snarky, but doesn’t want to be easily seen to be? I suppose it could be a whole household or dormful of rabid fans… just how rabid shall be left as an exercize for the student…. ;)

  10. May 12, 2007 at 5:41 pm

    I honestly thought they were really her fans. I emailed her to ask her whether she’d like to respond to her “fans” comments…and SHE DID!!! *headdesk*


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

