10
Apr
07

7 Questions with Elizabeth Guest

1. On a scale of one to ten, rank your current level of insanity–where ten is belongs-in-lunatic-asylum insane–and tell us why.

All writers are a little insane. :-) Sometimes I’m a one and sometimes I’m a ten on the insanity scale depending on how close I am to the next book deadline. I can sum up my feelings with the following thought: “I don’t suffer from insanity. I enjoy every minute of it.”

2. Elizabeth Guest isn’t only your pen name, it’s also the name of a character in one of your earlier novels, Desert Rogue. Did you choose it because of the Egypt connection?

I’ve always loved the name Elizabeth Guest, which I found on my family tree. (Two great-great-grandmothers.) I gave the name to the heroine of my first historical romance, but I always knew that I’d use it someday for my own pen name. It has special meaning for me because DESERT ROGUE was set in Egypt 1875 and my new series (PHARAOHS RISING) is all about an ancient Egyptian royal family who awaken in current time as vampires.

3. Now that you’ve been blogging for a year, what are your thoughts?

Blogging is fun, but it’s also hard work! I don’t think I could keep it up without the help of the other Quills: Susan Andersen, Stella Cameron, Lori Foster, Jayne Ann Krentz, and Elizabeth Lowell. Several of the Quills are new friends, but the others have been close friends for a long time — that makes it special, too.

4. Have you been on a dig in Egypt? Would you go if you have not?

I haven’t been on a dig. I have seen the magnificent ancient Egyptian artifacts in many of the museums in the USA, as well as the British Museum and the Louvre. I would love to go to Egypt one day and at least see a dig in person. I probably like my creature comforts too much to spend weeks at a dig.

5. Do you think that readers might be upset about your move into paranormals?

Whenever an author makes a major change in what she’s writing there will be some readers who will love it and some who don’t. That’s why I chose a new name. Writing about Adrian/Seti and his extended royal family is a dream come true for me. I’m so excited about the new series. I only hope most of my readers will be, too.

6. What do you think you are bringing to the vampire genre?

My story is based on ancient Egyptian mythology and beliefs, especially as described in the Book of the Dead. My new series is very different from anything other paranormal writers are currently doing. I wouldn’t have even attempted to write a vampire paranormal unless I had something fresh and original to bring to the genre.

7. So what’s up next for Elizabeth Guest?

I’m just finishing up the second book in the series. The hero, John Hunter/Rekhmire is a prince of Egypt and half-brother to Adrian/Seti from NIGHT LIFE. The setting is current day Los Angeles. I’ve already plotted out the first four books of the series I’m now calling Pharaohs Rising and I can’t wait to start work on Book 3.

Suzanne Simmons writes the Pharaohs Rising series under the name of Elizabeth Guest, and she blogs at Running With Quills. The first book, Night Life, has just been released.

4 Responses to “7 Questions with Elizabeth Guest”


  1. April 10, 2007 at 12:58 pm

    Writers are a little bit insane.
    They invent imaginary characters with imaginary lives and imaginary problems.

    Elizabeth Guest IS a slammin’ pen name.

  2. April 10, 2007 at 6:56 pm

    Thanks for having me as a “guest” at your blogsite, May!

    I like my new pen name, too, Kimber!

  3. April 10, 2007 at 7:12 pm

    Just a little insane, Kimber? Not so sure about that, LOL.

    You’re welcome, Elizabeth!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

