21
Mar
07

Patricia Briggs: Blood Bound

Under the rule of science, there are no witch burnings allowed, no water trials or public lynchings. In return, the average law-abiding, solid citizen has little to worry about from the things that go bump in the night. Sometimes I wish I was an average citizen…

Mechanic Mercy Thompson has friends in low places–and in dark ones. And now she owes one of them a favor. Since she can shapeshift at will, she agrees to act as some extra muscle when her vampire friend Stefan goes to deliver a message to another of his kind.

But this new vampire is hardly ordinary–and neither is the demon inside of him…

It took me awhile to get into this book. I must have read the first 2 chapters half a dozen times!

I think the plot from the blurb didn’t interest me much, though I did enjoy reading the book.

I’m actually more interested in the ‘love triangle’ than the book’s plot. Samuel! *sigh* I also do think that’s the only overarching plotline developed in Blood Bound.

This rates 3 out of 5.

4 Responses to “Patricia Briggs: Blood Bound”


  1. March 21, 2007 at 11:53 am

    I did not pick Moon Called up myself for a long time–despite a rec by PBW–because I wasn’t that thrilled with the werewolf plot, nor the mechanic heroine. Once I got into the story and world, though, I enjoyed it. I enjoyed Blood Bound more than the first, for the same reason as you, but have been disappointed in the lack of progress in said love triangle! I like Samuel a lot. I like Adam a lot. Let’s ramp up the tension, conflict, emotions a little and get busy!

  2. March 21, 2007 at 11:53 am

    But you know me and my love triangles…. Why can’t we all just share and get along? *wink*

  3. March 21, 2007 at 12:59 pm

    *ggg*

    Share, and share alike, eh? ;)

  4. 4 jmc
    March 22, 2007 at 1:22 am

    Interesting…I was the opposite: interested in the plot, bored by the potential for yet another paranormal triangle.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

