20
Mar
07

7 Questions with Ilona Andrews

1. On a scale of one to ten, rank your current level of insanity–where ten is belongs-in-lunatic-asylum insane–and tell us why.

Gordon: I am pretty grounded, so about a five. I guess because mainly I get to do what I want.

Ilona: Eleven. ‘Nuff said.

2. How did you guys meet? And tell us how you got to writing together.

Ilona: We met in English 101. Andrew decided I was the only writer in the class who could prove to be his competition, so he decided to take me out. As to how we started writing together… How did we start writing together?

Gordon: It started with college papers. We would edit each other’s papers. We made a pretty good team.

3. A husband-and-wife writing team. What’s it like in the house come deadline time? Do the kids stay out of the way? ;)

Gordon: Yes. Well, they should. But they don’t always.

Ilona: Actually, the worst time is the first 24 hours after we get revision requests. I mostly rant non-stop about how the revisions make no sense and how we’re not going to do it and bang the cabinet doors. But once that passes, usually we get to work and finish before the deadline. Curiously, with time the revision requests make more and more sense.

4. Another author I interviewed, Jaci Burton, who has co-written two novels with her husband, said “When writing with a partner, their schedule isn’t always going to match your schedule.”

Gordon: I don’t think that’s a problem for us. We always kind of matched our schedules, both in writing and in life. When I was in the military, Ilona would get up at the same time as I did.

Ilona: Yes, pretty much. If I need Andrew to look over something, he will stop what he is doing and look over it. And vice versa.

5. This question’s for Ilona: Would you translate Magic Bites into Russian yourself? Why, or why not?

Ilona: Oi. Not sure. I would like to, but I am not sure I would have time. Since the second book is due to come out in April 2008, the schedule is a bit tight at the moment.

6. Short people are sneaky people. True or false?

Ilona: True. We make excellent thieves.

Gordon: Yes.

7. Plot bunnies leave holes large enough for people to jump through. Chocolate Easter bunnies that you break, and find out that 1) they are hollow and 2) the chocolate sucks. Bunnies, too, are the root of all evil. I hear Ilona disagrees.

Ilona: Bunnies are not the root of all evil! They are cute, cuddly, and fluffy, especially if you photoshop some horns and demonic wings onto them.

Gordon: …… Bunnies taste good.

The Ilona-half of Ilona Andrews has a LiveJournal, and she has a great post about her path from unpubbed to pubbed. She is also a member of Fangs, Fur and Fey and Urban Fantasy Fan.

Their debut novel, Magic Bites, will be available in bookstores March 27th.

4 Responses to “7 Questions with Ilona Andrews”


  1. March 20, 2007 at 1:02 pm

    Great interview. I want to read this book so bad.

  2. March 20, 2007 at 1:17 pm

    Me too!

    Evil Jane has taunted me TWICE about her ARC already!

  3. March 20, 2007 at 7:05 pm

    Hee. I enjoyed it and I think it was a great collab because I had no idea that it was a husband and wife writing team or any writing team until I went in search of an email address where I could pour out my gushing feelings (I emailed the female part of the team because gushing to a male seems, well, weird).

    I wish, though, that sequel was coming out soon. Like in 6 months instead of 12 months. Alas, I’ll be patient.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

