16
Mar
07

Gena Showalter: Playing With Fire

Earth, Wind & Fire aren’t just a band anymore…

Used to be my greatest achievement was holding a job more than three days. Now suddenly I can shoot fireballs, chill your drink or blow-dry your hair at fifty paces with a blink of my eye!

It all started when this crazy scientist dropped something in my Grande Mocha Latte.

Of course I got wicked sick.

Next morning I’m waking up with this total hottie bending over me.

He tells me

1) his name’s Rome Masters,

2) he’s a government agent and

3) I can control the four elements with a thought.

He seems even less pleased by my (apparently irreversible) transformation than I am…. Because now he’ll have to kill me.

I liked Playing With Fire better than the other Gena Showalter books I’ve read.

It doesn’t have that rushed feeling I had come to associate with Showalter after reading Awaken Me Darkly and Heart Of The Dragon. I actually would be interested in reading more books set in this world, and I didn’t with the other two.

Belle starts out as your typical girl-next-door. I don’t think she grows as much as a character I would like though.

Liked the resume at the back. Is it wrong that my mind leapt into the gutter when I read that she “aced all extra-credit assignments” in the School of Rome?

This rates 3 out of 5.


5 Responses to “Gena Showalter: Playing With Fire”


  1. March 17, 2007 at 2:15 am

    I really liked PWF. Though, I was disappointed at the ending — not because it was bad, but because there’s not much chance of finding out what happens to the characters “next.” At least, not like if it were published as an urban fantasy; about the only romance “sequels” out there (with some rare exceptions) are about different characters, with maybe cameos of the original. *sigh*

  2. March 17, 2007 at 3:04 am

    I have to agree with you, May. This was my first Showalter, so I can’t compare it to her other works, but I also felt that the heroine didn’t grow much. The only thing that was different at the end was the she got a man and some superpowers. I would’ve liked to see something of an internal change / growth if you know what I mean. (I don’t think I’m explaining this very well…)

  3. March 17, 2007 at 10:02 am

    Nonny, I’ve found that Showalter appears to do this all the time. She writes one book in one world, and then moves on to the next one. I’d really like to know what happens to Roman’s ex-wife and the boy.

    Angelle, I don’t think I explained it very well either, but I know exactly what you mean.

  4. March 19, 2007 at 4:35 am

    I would’ve also liked to see more character development. I guess I read it more as a “book one” than independent. That’s how it felt to me.

    I haven’t read anything else by Showalter. If she’s got a habit of starting books that read like series and then dropping them, though… I would find that very annoying after awhile.

  5. March 19, 2007 at 6:37 am

    Personally, I don’t get it. You go to all the trouble of worldbulding and then you immediately start a new one?

    Well, it doesn’t bug me if I don’t want to read the next book…Unfortunately I do with this one.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

