15
Mar
07

Shanna Swendson: Once Upon Stilettos

Click your heels three times and say, “There’s no place like Bloomies!”Katie Chandler’s life is pure magic–literally. As an executive assistant at Magic, Spells, and Illusions, Inc., she’s seen more than her share of fantastical occurrences. A mere Manhattan mortal, Katie is no wizard, but she’s a wiz at exposing “hokum” pocus, cloaked lies, and deceptive enchantments. And she’s fallen under the all-too-human spell of attraction to Owen, a hunky wizard and coworker. Owen, however, is preoccupied. Someone has broken into his office and disrupted top-secret files, and it reeks of an inside job. CEO Merlin (yes, the Merlin) and taps Katie and her special ability to uncover the magical mole.

Keeping her feelings in check while sleuthing alongside Owen, Katie is shocked to discover that her immunity to magic is waning, putting her in grave danger. Soon she’s surrendering to the charms and enchantments of everyone and everything around her, including a killer pair of red stilettos. Katie must now conjure up her natural instincts to get to the bottom of the break-in, regain her power, and win the wizard of her dreams.

Once Upon Stilettos has joined the previous book in the series, Enchanted Inc., on my rereads pile. So frankly speaking, I don’t think I can be objective about this book, and not because I have any personal connection to Shanna Swendson.

I’m not inclined to dissect it, and well, if I’ve read it several times in the week since I first finished it, and still love it (remember, I almost don’t reread at all), then it must be a really good book, right?

I guess I’m really writing this just to ask you to go pick this book up, or Enchanted Inc. if you have to read series in order, because I adore this series, and I hope you will too.

This rates 5 out of 5.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

