10
Mar
07

Seven Questions with Richelle Mead

1. On a scale of one to ten, rank your current level of insanity–where ten is belongs-in-lunatic-asylum insane–and tell us why.

Ooh, tough question ‘cos it depends on what part of my life you’re talking about. As far as the Succubus Blues release goes? That’s a 1, hands down. I’m so ready for that, it’s not even funny. In fact, I’m so excited, I’m going to go buy a lottery ticket and play my ISBN # on release day. As for the rest of my writing projects…well, that’s an 8, unfortunately. Possibly going up soon. If you want to split the difference, you can stick me at a 4.5.

2. You sold Succubus Blues shortly after quitting your job as a teacher. Vampire Academy, your latest sale, which achieves your dream of having 2 books out in 2007, is a young-adult novel. Was your teaching experience helpful in writing VA?

I actually sold SB while teaching. Got the call in the middle of teaching about the Revolutionary War, much to my students’ amusement! But that’s a story for another day. My teaching actually played a very small role in Vampire Academy. YA only became easy when I stopped trying to think like a teenager. Most of them think a lot like me, so I just wrote them very mature. I did have to tone down the sex and swearing, but that was my publisher’s call…and not necessarily true to life, frighteningly.

3. Synchronicity seems to be the trendy flavor here at Chez Insanity, where my January victims interviewees share Liliths and historical figures in their books. Jackie Kessler and you are both writing about succubi. Eileen Wilks wrote a succubus novella. Do your books share any other similarities?

Short of succubi, no. I haven’t read Eileen’s novella, but Jackie and I have written very different things (despite us discovering that in real life, we’re astonishingly very similar). You can’t imagine our relief when we swapped manuscripts because until then, we’d been worried we were pushing the same thing. We aren’t. Nonetheless, the weirdness of us both writing succubus novels and selling them to the same editor still kind of freaks us out.

4. What are the entry requirements to the Richelle Mead School of Writing and Publishing? And how do I bribe you to get in? Because I don’t think I can pass the entrance exam; a whole bottle of whiskey will probably leave me falling-down drunk.

We here at the RMSWP respect diversity, including those who can’t handle their liquor. So long as you meet the other requirements, we can probably make an exception: insomnia, a penchant for corsets and slutty tank tops, consumption of at least three cups of Kona coffee per day, and red hair. Oh yeah—you also have to submit a well thought out and perfectly punctuated entrance essay delving into the esoteric philosophies behind life, the universe, and Triple Sec.

5. Writing drunk: Good/bad idea?

Writing novels=bad. Blogging=good. Answering interview questions=also good.

6. I absolutely have to know the hows, the whys, and the what happeneds of your late, great sci-fi novel, Harbinger.

Oh, Harbinger…alas. Here’s the skinny: it takes place in a futuristic atheistic society. A drug abusing, womanizing professor rediscovers some religious texts and suddenly has a contract taken out on him. The solution? A debutante turned super-soldier bodyguard. With red hair. Wacky mishaps then ensue…for, uh, 800 pages. That’s why it never saw publication. Someday, I’ll clean it up and make it a realistic length. Either that, or I’ll become so famous, they’ll let me publish anything. Just like several other authors I’m too polite to name.

7. Seven books contracted, seven questions for a succubus author. Is your favorite number 7?

Nine is actually my lucky number. Guess I’ve got to sell two more books.

Richelle Mead blogs and is a member of Fangs, Fur & Fey.

Succubus Blues should be available in a bookstore near you. If you can’t get enough of Georgina Kincaid, she blogs at the Magical Minxes every Thursday.

Vampire Academy releases in the fall.


3 Responses to “Seven Questions with Richelle Mead”


  1. March 11, 2007 at 3:34 am

    Nine’s my lucky number too

  2. March 11, 2007 at 8:36 am

    ;) That’s why you should buy Succubus Blues!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

