07
Mar
07

Gail Dayton: The Compass Rose

One desperate call to the gods…
One blast of extraordinary magic…
One gift of unimaginable power…The legends of the Godstruck were just that – legends. Until, in an attempt to defend her people, Captain Kallista Varyl called on the One for aid and was granted abilities such as no one had seen in centuries.

Now Kallista has been charged with a new destiny as one of the most powerful women in the land- but her power is useless if it cannot be controlled. Mastering her “Godstruck” abilities is the first step. The next, learning that she cannot unlock the secrets of the Compass Rose and defeat her nation’s enemy alone. And finally she must stop a demon-possessed king….

The Compass Rose: fourfold magic barely understood-or contained….

The Compass Rose is the first book in Dayton’s Rose series.

I think I expected a book with more risks taken than this, and that if I hadn’t expected more, I would have liked this book a lot better. IOW, it seems…well…tame.

I think Dayton handled the polyamory aspect quite well. You see the slow shifts as the ilian begins to meld.

I would have liked to see more of the worldbuilding.

But where this book really fails for me is Kallista, the main protagonist. I didn’t finish the book rooting for her.

This rates 3 out of 5.

2 Responses to “Gail Dayton: The Compass Rose”


  1. March 7, 2007 at 11:10 am

    True, it’s not as risky as some of the more erotic romance, but considering it was published by LUNA–I was surprised. I loved the magical bonding elements and Torchay was cool. The magic elements were cool. Kalista–was that her name? It’s been a while since I read it–I thought she was okay, but it seems like I did get frustrated by her near the end. She was hiding too much from Torchay. I’m probably butchering the character’s names but the book is packed away somewhere.

    Darn. It was hoping you’d enjoy this one more. I still haven’t ordered the second one but plan to before Juno releases book 3.

  2. March 7, 2007 at 12:02 pm

    Joely, hey, you enjoyed it! Besides, I didn’t hate it–otherwise you’d have heard from me a looooong time ago, LOL.

    I think you hit on it, that she was hiding too much from Torchay, especially in light of the fact that he had been with her for so long, even if it wasn’t as her ilias.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

