06
Mar
07

I Was Going to Go Cold Turkey

I’ve been drinking coffee every morning before class lately. I wouldn’t call it a full-blown addiction–since I don’t drink it every day–but it hit me over the weekend that I was getting addicted because it’s the second time in a fortnight that I had a headache…probably because I didn’t have coffee. I have to buy my coffee, because I refuse to abuse my tastebuds with instant.

So I was going to go cold turkey, starting today.

Then I realised that, you know, it’s not such a great idea to go cold turkey right before the mid-terms. Besides, coffee, even my preferred full-fat lattes, has less calories than any caffeine substitute (Chocolate!) I’d be willing to take.

I think this is a bad sign. My procrastination skillz are improving.

Also, tell me this isn’t true!!!

13 Responses to “I Was Going to Go Cold Turkey”


  1. March 6, 2007 at 6:36 pm

    Heyya May – you want a GREAT procrastination excuse? Go check out Isabella Snow’s blog where she has a video posted (limited time) of her belting out the blues in a performance. Worth the bloghop! http://isabellasnow.blogspot.com/
    Doncha love writers with secret lives?

  2. March 6, 2007 at 7:03 pm

    I don’t need an excuse to procrastinate. I’m too corrupted for that.

    Is she worth reading, Rhian?

  3. March 6, 2007 at 8:23 pm

    Cold turkey. Even the thought gives me a headache.

    I’ve been easing into mine with diet soda (blech).

  4. March 6, 2007 at 8:24 pm

    Ugh.

    I don’t do soda, but coffee…oooh coffee!

  5. March 6, 2007 at 9:08 pm

    actually cold turkey on caffeine is bad… you get these rebound headaches that are evil.

    Try tapering off instead of cold turkey. You drink two cups normally, then try one. Those caffeine headaches are a bitch.

  6. March 6, 2007 at 10:02 pm

    THey really are. I went off it about three months ago and it took me about a month of cutting the caffeinated with decaf and herbal coffee.
    My preferred drink now is Teeccino, but it’s kind of pricey and a real pain the keister to get, so I mix it with decaf and it has potassium so you get a natural boost. (Meljean diet soda is UGHHHHH)

  7. March 7, 2007 at 12:50 am

    I really enjoyed Kitten alot and that’s from someone who typically only reads BDSM tales now and again by certain favorite authors. However I loved Isa’s writing so much that she was the first author i ever located an email address for and blindly sent a thank you note to. Her story had some very unique aspects and twists and staying with me long after the last page was turned.

    PS – no coffee?!?!? Not me. Not in this lifetime. How would i survive my 19 hour days without it?

  8. 8 Megan Hart
    March 7, 2007 at 1:52 am

    I don’t drink coffee every day but I do drink tons of diet soda. :( Bad, I know. I did give up aspartame, though. Man, THAT was a bitch!

    M

  9. March 7, 2007 at 2:23 am

    Megan I feel for you–I remember trying to kick diet DP (this was years ago) Man did that suck!

  10. March 7, 2007 at 11:13 am

    I’m addicted and I don’t care. *as I sip another cup of coffee* I gave it up for pregnancy, but I refuse to give up my one vice now. I definitely get a pick-me-up from coffee in the morning. Although at night I can kill a cup and head right to bed, no problem. So maybe it’s all in my head.

  11. March 7, 2007 at 12:00 pm

    Well, I don’t drink coffee everyday. About 3-4 cups a week. So I don’t really think there’s any other way of quitting short of cold turkey.

    I don’t drink soda because it’s too sweet–I take my coffee with milk, no sugar.

    Rhian, I’ll think about getting Kitten. Thanks!

  12. March 7, 2007 at 12:03 pm

    Joely, it’s the same for me! It seems to help during the day, but I’ve had coffee at night and gone straight to bed.

  13. March 8, 2007 at 5:37 am

    I usually drink one cup of coffee a day. I drink green tear, mostly. You could switch to tea. You might like it.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

