03
Mar
07

Colleen Gleason: The Rest Falls Away

Beneath the glitter of dazzling 19th-century London Society lurks a bloodthirsty evil… .Vampires have always lived among them, quietly attacking unsuspecting debutantes and dandified lords as well as hackney drivers and Bond Street milliners. If not for the vampire slayers of the Gardella family, these immortal creatures would have long taken over the world.In every generation, a Gardella is called to accept the family legacy, and this time, Victoria Gardella Grantworth is chosen, on the eve of her debut, to carry the stake.

But as she moves between the crush of ballrooms and dangerous, moonlit streets, Victoria’s heart is torn between London’s most eligible bachelor, the Marquess of Rockley, and her enigmatic ally, Sebastian Vioget.

And when she comes face to face with the most powerful vampire in history, Victoria must ultimately make the choice between duty and love.

The Rest Falls Away is the first book in Colleen Gleason‘s Gardella Vampire Chronicles.

I liked Victoria, and I liked even more the fact that Colleen allowed her to make mistakes that Victoria is going to have to live with.

I do wonder if perhaps there’s too much relying on the vis bulla, an amulet that gives Venators (vampire slayers) qualities like greater strength and speed. Another thing that bugs me is that Victoria’s only been studying the martial art of kalaripayattu for a month, but she’s become so expert in it–at least, she comes across that way to me.

As a vampire book, it doesn’t score so well, but this is probably skewed by the fact that I like my vampire books really dark and some gore wouldn’t be amiss either.

This rates 3.5 out of 5.

8 Responses to “Colleen Gleason: The Rest Falls Away”


  1. March 3, 2007 at 8:02 pm

    Wow – new template. It’s dark! LOL

    Do you normally read historicals? I mean is the historic more the theme or is the vampire story? I just wondered as I have the second in this series coming to review for a place. I don’t normally do historicals but this really sounded good.

  2. March 3, 2007 at 8:24 pm

    Yeah. Like my twisted soul. *g*

    Nope. It used to be all I read when I first started reading romance, but I almost don’t read historicals at all nowadays–I told Colleen that hers would be the first I read in a long time (as it turned out, it wasn’t the case, as Meljean Brook’s Demon Angel is partially set in the past).

    The vampire story is more prominent, but there is a very very clear historical stamp on it. The historical part annoyed me sometimes, and together with the not enough gore part, dropped the score for me.

    So basically, it’s a good book, but it’s not for me. Most of the issues I had with this book are MY issues, not the book’s issues.

  3. March 4, 2007 at 5:19 am

    What happened? Did this just suddenly become something else? Am I in the right place?

  4. March 4, 2007 at 11:55 am

    Yeah. I changed it again. What can I say, I have a fickle mind and a moodier soul.

  5. March 5, 2007 at 11:28 am

    Michelle – The Rest Falls Away reads very, very Regency, what with the ton and the balls and the dancing cards. It’s basically Regency version of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, with lots of nods and winks towards that series. As I was telling someone, if you hated Buffy, you will hate this book. There are parts of it that are like a Regency Alias but even though I spent most of my time laughing at that TV show, I wasn’t too bothered by it.

  6. March 5, 2007 at 2:38 pm

    I love Buffy, but not this book. I agree with May’s review (and I love historical novels). I didn’t get any sense of V as a person, and I thought she was more of a caricature than anything else. And it didn’t help that I didn’t find her very intelligent because she signed up to be a slayer without thinking it through about possible ramifications (like what happens if she finds a man she loves and wants to get married, etc.). Furthermore I agree with you, May, that V knew way too much about vamps and martial arts and whatnot. Vis bulla seems a bit sketchy as well since I wasn’t sure if it just made V stronger and faster OR the knowledge about how to fight or something.

    And the factual error totally jerked me out of the book. I’m a huge fan of classical music and Mozart’s Mozart’s Piano Concerto in Dm does NOT have four movements!

  7. March 6, 2007 at 1:20 am

    OK – thanks everyone. I wasn’t sure. I have to review it anyway and maybe the second book will be different. I just read another historical piece (not sure why I’m suddenly getting them when I say I don’t do them but I digress…) that was historical erotic and after I read it I had to say I couldn’t do the review. Not being a huge historical person means I don’t know what’s appropriate for certain time periods but the language/slang used in this seemed to be entirely wrong and it jarred me so much that I didn’t enjoy the book at all. It felt like the time period was only there to hold up the fact that there was an arranged marriage.

  8. March 6, 2007 at 4:36 pm

    I don’t know how to phrase this in that’ll make complete sense but I’ll give it my best shot. It’s historical but it’s historical in a way that a modern female reader will appreciate. Like The Rest Falls Away had a historical backdrop and a lot of things action shows that, but it has a modern sensibility to it that I seriously doubt a woman from the Regency period would actually have.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

