19
Feb
07

Is there a scrotum in your book?

Have you guys read the NYTimes article about Susan Patron’s Newbery Award-winning The Higher Power of Lucky?

Some librarians are complaining about the book having the word scrotum on the first page of the book.

Me, I don’t get it. It’s such a clinical sounding word…I can’t imagine that ten, twenty years down the road, people will be saying, “You scrotum!!!”

Or maybe they will be. *thinks*

Anyway, it just strikes as hilarious because reading the word scrotum in a sex scene will probably send me out of the mood entirely, so I don’t know what’s the big deal.

Tomorrow, Lucinda Betts‘s interview will be up. I must go write the review now.

Have a good day!

Your friendly blogger with no tastebuds


5 Responses to “Is there a scrotum in your book?”


  1. February 19, 2007 at 2:39 pm

    Without going to look, I’m going to say Jami Alden’s Delicious also has scrotum on the first page–or is it balls? Anyway I do remember it’s a word for some part of the anatomy in that general direction.

  2. February 19, 2007 at 5:01 pm

    Oh I didn’t make it clear.

    The Higher Power of Lucky is a YA, Amie.

  3. February 20, 2007 at 3:28 pm

    Yikes! LOL I can see my oldest calling the youngest that, but then they’re boys. :D

  4. February 21, 2007 at 1:39 pm

    This situation is fucking ridiculous. IT’S NOT A BIG DEAL.

    “But…OMG, what if CHILDREN START ASKING ABOUT SCROTUM???”

    Explain. Period.

    “BUT…THE SCROTUM IS PART OF A MAN’S…YOU KNOW. WEE WEE.”

    “Oui” is French for “yes.” Yes, Yes, I know, the scrotum and the penis go, excuse me, hand in hand.

    “YOU SAID PENIS! SUE! SUE!”

    Sigh.

  5. February 23, 2007 at 4:16 am

    To quote the inimitable Caitlin: “bollocks!” Now I asks ya: what word was she supposed to use? “Nutsack”? At least scrotum’s a technical term. Or maybe she was supposed to ask that the page be kerned and leaded so the offending word landed on page 2, instead? It’s not a children’s picture book for Ghu’s sake! If the readers are even approaching the A part of being YA, I think they already know a lot rougher words for that bit of anatomy. Some people are too busy worrying about what others will think.

    (Personally, I’d have used the term “dangly bits” and YA sensibilities be damned.)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

