03
Feb
07

Jenna Black: Watchers In The Night

Watchers In The Night has occasional flashes of brilliance.

Every now and then, Gray (the hero) or Jules pop off the page. But the fact that I’ve only just finished the book hours ago and cannot remember the heroine’s name is a bad sign.

It’s also a bad sign that I could figure out the villain early. I do not like it when this happens. I mean, I like trying to guess who the villain is, but I do not want to find out until you, the Author, decides it’s Time.

At the very least, I want you to keep me off-balance, which this book didn’t do. I want to be thinking “Oh yes it’s her/him” and then a page later go, “It can’t be!”

The sequel-bait wasn’t THAT obvious, but since everyone knows you almost never have a paranormal romance (especially ones featuring vamps and other creatures of the night) without a sequel these days…

This rates 2.5 out of 5.

5 Responses to “Jenna Black: Watchers In The Night”


  1. February 3, 2007 at 4:27 pm

    Oh, that is bad, not remembering the heroine’s name after only a few hours. I hate when that happens

  2. February 3, 2007 at 7:05 pm

    Not exactly.

    It’s more like I hate it when that happens and I realise I spent money for this to happen to me. *g*

  3. February 3, 2007 at 10:03 pm

    Kind of like going to the dentist :D

  4. February 4, 2007 at 5:07 am

    LMAO! Absolutely right, Amie!

  5. February 4, 2007 at 2:37 pm

    Mmmm…I’m glad I didn’t pick this one up then. I’m really picky about vamp romance since there are so many of them, and most of them just blend in.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

