02
Feb
07

Watch The Book? Nah…

Have you guys been to Watch The Book yet?

No? Go and comeback. I order it.

Anyway, this is the part that interests me most:

As of now, having your trailer posted here is free. That will change in the future, once we attract the traffic that authors like to see before anteing up the funds to pay for the privilege of being publicized this way.

I am soooooo not convinced by the whole idea. Not because it’s book trailers, and everyone knows I’m not the biggest fan of those, but because I don’t think anybody’s going to subscribe to a site just to watch book trailers.

Given that it’s free, I’d say absolutely, go for it. But when it’s not? Wouldn’t it be more cost-effective to do a contest for bloggers who post your trailer? Wouldn’t your trailer get lost amidst the many trailers on a single site?

Link courtesy of Colleen Gleason, who also blogs at Muse, News and a Few Loose Screws.

And another link: 10 Reasons why Booksellers Hate Harry Potter*

5 Responses to “Watch The Book? Nah…”


  1. February 2, 2007 at 1:30 am

    To answer your question, yes, I believe books would get lost in the shuffle. There will be free places to post your trailers, so why pay? :-/

  2. February 2, 2007 at 1:48 am

    I’m not worried about trailers at this point. It’s something I’ll worry about after I sell–which I hope is soon. *g* Trailers are cool, but none that I’ve seen has made me want to buy the book. It’s the author or the book’s premise or even the buzz I’ve heard about the book that makes me want to buy it.

  3. February 2, 2007 at 2:45 am

    Oh, you got the link? I got the email spam so I am not visiting. I hate being spammed. At least personalize the damn spam.

  4. February 2, 2007 at 4:47 am

    Jordan, that’s exactly my point! I don’t doubt that you can get people to post it for the cost of a single signed book and postage! It’s the same thing as those blogging contests, like Gena Showalter does and Dear Author and Nalini Singh did for Slave To Sensation.

    Edie, I’m reasonably certain that I’ve never bought a book because of a trailer before, so… But I was curious, as a reader, because I really don’t think I’m going to subscribe to watch advertisements, which book trailers basically are!

    Jane, you gotta put in the www. part. Watchthebook.com gets spam.

  5. February 2, 2007 at 4:31 pm

    Edie and May…interestingly, I’ve had quite a few people email me to tell me that it was seeing my book trailer that made them interested in buying the book.

    So, at least for me, and at least in a few cases, it’s made a difference.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

