25
Jan
07

Thursday Thirteen: Me and the Mark Twain philosophy

This is in honor of Jane saying that I live by the Mark Twain philosophy.

1. The Mark Twain philosophy: Whenever you find yourself on the side of majority, it’s time to pause and reflect.

2. I suppose it’s true. I like to argue.

3. And I like being the underdog. We shall see who can shout louder–probably me because I am loud. Not ladylike at tall.

4. Playing the devil’s advocate is fun.

5. I’ve a long and well-documented history of doing a different question from the rest. That is, given the choice of two questions, I’ll probably do the question less people do. This is without discussion, like in exams.

6. So I guess I do see things differently. That’s mostly a good thing. Unless, you know, you don’t want to get flamed–I’ve not gotten flamed before, and hope that I never will. But it might be fun. Fun is important to having a happy life.

7. I’d like to think that I do ask interesting questions to the authors who’ve been kind enough to let me interview them. Maybe 6 helps?

8. I’m very very honest. I’ll say the things people don’t want to hear, if I think they’ll listen. No point wasting my time and energy otherwise.

9. If they don’t like what I have to say, they can get lost. Or they can argue intelligently with me. I don’t mind. Ask Angie. I’ve not blocked her from commenting yet. *g*

10. And, well, to keep number 8 true, I think people are mostly stupid irrational. This applies to me as well.

11. Therefore the majority is probably wrong, and why you should be on the side of the minority. Be the underdog!

12. This is why I like economics. In your little world, you’re right and everyone else is wrong. *g*

13. Gee. I’ve run out of stuff. Do you know that I’ve not actually read Huckleberry Finn? Or the book about Tom? Is it the same book? Yeah. My classics education is severely lacking.

1. 13 things on Jaci Burton’s desk

2. Racy Li’s Debut Day

3. Angelle Trieste’s Must Buy List

4. The Gardella Vampire Thursday Thirteen

5. JoelySue Burkhart’s finished MBB#3!!!!!

6. Christine d’Abo’s TT

7. Jobs Scooper Does Not Want

8. I Am… by MG Braden

9. SpyScribbler learns from Natalie R. Collins’s Behind Closed Doors

Get the Thursday Thirteen code here!The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others comments. It’s easy, and fun! Be sure to update your Thirteen with links that are left for you, as well! I will link to everyone who participates and leaves a link to their 13 things. Trackbacks, pings, comment links accepted!

9 Responses to “Thursday Thirteen: Me and the Mark Twain philosophy”


  1. January 25, 2007 at 2:43 am

    #6 is very good for writers. :) Makes you interesting.

  2. January 25, 2007 at 3:23 pm

    Underdog was always my favorite cartoon as a kid. I’ve read Huck Finn, but not Tom’s book. Fun list, and I agree–be the underdog! (By the way, I’m IN for the novella in Feb. Urgency went up–I want to have a finished one by the end of the month–actually different than the one I planned! Ack! But I’m in!)

  3. January 25, 2007 at 5:58 pm

    I think seeing things differently is a major positive. Imagine how boring the world would be if we were all the same. I love a good debate too, as long as it stays away from personal attacks.

  4. January 25, 2007 at 6:03 pm

    I like people who don’t necessarily agree with the masses, who are willing to argue a point, as long as they don’t insist I agree with them. ;-)

  5. January 25, 2007 at 9:41 pm

    I can’t get irate and scream because you’re wrong? :)

  6. January 25, 2007 at 9:51 pm

    Angelle, I think so too.

    Joely, I’ve not seen that cartoon. Hmm…

    Christine and Jaci, absolutely!

    Scooper, you could but I’ll just pretend I didn’t hear it. *g*

  7. January 26, 2007 at 12:29 am

    I’m very honest too and sometimes I have to curb that depending on who/what I’m talking or writing about.

  8. January 26, 2007 at 2:21 am

    Nr. 6 is my favorite too. I’m honest, but sometimes I won’t say what I really think. Unless you agree with them, most people don’t want to know.

  9. January 26, 2007 at 2:23 am

    That’s a great philosophy! Very true, too. Who wants to be ‘common cattle,’ as they say?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

