18
Jan
07

First Person Romance and…the Chicklit voice?

So when I asked for FP romances yesterday, it seems to me that most of the recommendations have a slightly chicklit tone. Cara Lockwood, Gena Showalter etc…

Now, I do have a copy of CT Adams’ and Cathy Clamp’s Hunter’s Moon, which is written in first person. In an interesting twist, it’s in the hero’s POV.

I also have a copy of Megan Hart‘s Dirty, which is in FP and is sort of romance, according to Megan. In terms of voice, Megan’s work is more what I’m looking for than, say, Gena Showalter or Adams/Clamp.

But really, what I want to know is, do you think there’s a connection with FP romance and the chicklit voice? I shall try to cobble together a RTB post from this.

My hypothesis (I’m so smart…I know so many ten dollar words) arises from anecdotal evidence, so feel free to prove me wrong.

PS I’m still look for recommends if you have any.


8 Responses to “First Person Romance and…the Chicklit voice?”


  1. January 18, 2007 at 5:00 pm

    I think you could make as great, if not greater an arguement for paranormal/urban fantasy. If you try to draw conclusions to chick lit, I could probably make the same arguement/parallel to fantasy, which existed in first person, I think, before chick lit existed as a genre.

  2. January 18, 2007 at 6:05 pm

    Actually, you’re coming to it from the opposite direction from me.

    As I see it, there hasn’t been that many FP romances. In fact, I remember back when I refused to read FP, the only books I didn’t bother to check about FP were romances.

    I haven’t really seen FP romances on the market except in the past few years, so if there have been, then I’m totally wrong. But maybe there’s a link to FP romances being published and the formation of chicklit as a genre.

  3. January 18, 2007 at 7:51 pm

    Have you read the “Warprize”, “Warlord” series from Elizabeth Vaughan. It is fantasy romance and written in the first person. Not chick lit at all.

  4. January 18, 2007 at 8:10 pm

    I’ve that on my wish list, but I don’t actually think I’ve seen it at the bookstore. I’ll give them a nudge about it. Thanks for reminding me, Jane!

  5. January 18, 2007 at 9:40 pm

    Oh, I liked those books. And I just read them last month (the first was a re-read) can’t believe I forgot them. The first is better than the second.

  6. January 18, 2007 at 9:40 pm

    And I forgot to say, May, that I don’t think I’m really understanding what your hypothesis is, so I can’t really continue the discussion, lolol.

  7. January 18, 2007 at 10:04 pm

    May, followed your link over here from Karin Tabke’s blog.

    I’ve been judging alot of contest entries recently and it seems no matter which genre it is written in, if it is FP it has that chicklit sound and feel to it. The whole “I’m talking while I’m typing in my laptop” thing.

  8. January 19, 2007 at 12:47 pm

    Angie, it’s okay because I don’t really think I understood what you’re saying either! ROFL. I think I read

    Jill, I don’t think it has to be the case. I’ve read FP books without that chicklit sound.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

