17
Jan
07

First Person Romances

I could go look, of course, but I don’t have time.

So, I want romances written in first person heroine’s point of view.

Um, for this, it has to have a HEA, because what I’m writing needs to have a HEA. And the HEA must be in the book, not several books down the line. Mine’s really only a novella, so I must compress and giving me a novel series to learn how to write a novella…Well, I don’t think it’ll be helpful.

Feel to recommend anyway, but just tell me that the HEA is several books down the line so I won’t rush to get them, okay?

I may write on first person romances for my next RTB post, for the deadline loooooooms. It always loooooooms, then it loooooooms, then it looms, then it’s here. So you see why I need to get started on it.

10 Responses to “First Person Romances”


  1. January 17, 2007 at 4:26 pm

    not sure but i think Dark Roots and Cowboy Boots by LuAnn McLane is first person…it’s contemporary.

    I’m vaguely recalling that there’s a book, Something Wicked???? Maybe… at Ellora’s Cave, by Jacqueline Meadows or something like that.

  2. January 17, 2007 at 4:36 pm

    Mandy Roth writes mostly in first person :) There are a few she writes in third, but mostly in first.

  3. January 17, 2007 at 5:54 pm

    Nell Dixon’s Things To Do is first person with an HEA. Also, Cara Lockwood’s I do But I don’t (which I haven’t read) or I Did But I Wouldn’t Now (which I have).

  4. January 17, 2007 at 6:34 pm

    I’ve read I Do But I Don’t, and if absulutely pressed, I wouldn’t peg it as something you’d enjoy, but I might be mistaken. It’s more like a chick-lit cross of romance.

  5. January 17, 2007 at 8:13 pm

    Playing with Fire by Gena Showalter. Fantastic book! I think you’ll like it. Mostly the heroine’s story, with a chick-lit feel but definitely romance, complete w/HEA.

  6. January 17, 2007 at 8:16 pm

    It’s pretty bad when I put a typo in my own name… {sigh}. Anyway, another really ood romance written in first person is The Mistress of Trevelyan by Jennifer St. Giles. Historical.

  7. January 17, 2007 at 9:03 pm

    How sad! I prefer first and can’t think of any!!!!!

  8. January 18, 2007 at 10:51 am

    Um. You know, I can think of tons of fantasy novels written in first person, but not so many romances. Gena Showalter’s Playing With Fire is in first person, I believe, but there’s good chance you’ve already read that.

    Wow. I just glanced through my list of books I read in 06… quite a few of which were romance… and Gena’s was the only first person one there. Huh.

  9. January 18, 2007 at 12:06 pm

    Shiloh, I’ll keep Luann McLane in mind.

    Angie, thanks! I’ve a lot of Roth ebooks in my harddisk–which is one of the reasons why I’m on a ebookbuying ban, LOL.

    Michelle, I’ve been wanting to try Lockwood, so I Do But I Don’t will be a great place as any to start!

    Jenette, I’ll put the St. Giles book on my list. I’ve seen it, but I don’t read historicals very often. LOL.

    Amie, *g* Come back when your memory’s found a few.

    Nonny, I’ve actually not read Playing With Fire. I read Awaken Me Darkly, and didn’t love it enough to pursue her other work, but I’ll pick up PWF now.

  10. January 18, 2007 at 5:34 pm

    My book, Lost in Suburbia, is first person and it’s a romance, though not an entirely traditional one. The publisher (Cerridwen Press) lists it as Women’s Fiction.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

