02
Jan
07

Meljean Brook: Demon Angel

Demon Angel is a strong debut, but I don’t think it succeeds on every level that Meljean wanted it to.

I like the protagonists. Lilith and Hugh are interesting characters, and they have a very different romance going on. The worldbuilding was amazing–I could go on and on about the worldbuilding, but you should just read the book.

I think the thing that bugged me most was pacing. The book could have been faster, and I honestly think it could have been shorter. Confusing at times too–I was going back and forth trying to figure out what was going on at some points.

It’s also written more in the style of a fantasy novel than a romance. Specifically the kind of epic fantasy that has many hidden allegories and it’s up to you to dig them out, if you want to.

But despite all that, I still want to read the next one.

This rates 4 out of 5.

6 Responses to “Meljean Brook: Demon Angel”


  1. January 2, 2007 at 3:18 am

    Yep, pacing has always been one of my big struggling points, and one I’m constantly trying to improve — but I’m glad the rest worked for you! :-) And I’ll be certain to send you an ARC of Demon Moon when the revisions are done.

  2. January 2, 2007 at 4:28 pm

    I think it’s something that bugs a lot of new authors.

    OOOOOH! Thank you!!!! I should give you a 5 out of 5 for that. *g*


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

