26
Dec
06

Jackie Kessler: Hell’s Belles

Well, you all already know I liked this book.

What makes this book stand out for me is that Jezebel is not a human, and she in no way acts like one. She’s a succubus, and she likes being a succubus, even if she’s in a human guise.

Jackie has really cool worldbuilding. Cool enough that I’m V. jealous that I didn’t think of it first.

To be sure, there are flaws. It is a first book, and like many first books, I think it could have been paced better. At some points, Jezebel’s voice got on my nerves. Not her, since she didn’t do anything TSTL, just her voice.

Still, I really liked the ending. That’s more spoiler stuff. A lot of what I want to discuss is spoiler stuff, which I’ll take to the comments because I don’t know how to do the white-out code.
This rates 4 out of 5.

3 Responses to “Jackie Kessler: Hell’s Belles”


  1. December 26, 2006 at 12:59 am

    I read this book this past weekend. I’m going to review it this week but I will say that I think you’re spot on about Jezebel’s voice in areas. A few times I found myself irritated with Jezebel’s dialogue. I noted that many of the characters had to have some sort of cute thing they said and it seemed excessive to me–love, babes, sweetie, etc.

    Other than that, you’ll have to wait for my review for the rest ;)

  2. December 26, 2006 at 7:06 pm

    May, thanks both for the review and the interview! Thrilled you loved the worldbuilding. Less thrilled that the voice grated, but I appreciate the feedback. :-) Very, very thrilled that Jezebel didn’t do anything TSTL. And you liked the ending? HUZZAH! Me so happy! ((Jackie does happy dance))

    (Of course, now I’m afraid to let you read THE ROAD TO HELL. Heh.)

    Hi, Angie! ((Jackie waves)) You realize, of course, that now along with feverishly checking my Amazon ranking, I’m going to be checking your site, right? It’s a plot. You and May WANT to increase my insanity rating. May, can I change my insanity to a 6? :-D

  3. December 27, 2006 at 1:57 am

    Woohoo, Jackie! Let me add my vote of awesomeness for the book.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

