16
Nov
06

Full Disclosure?

Via Buzz, Balls & Hype, I found this at Metaxu Cafe (can also be read at Kim Bofo’s own blog), which lead to this post as well.

From those posts, you can continue on to others.

The gist of Kim Bofo’s post is that bloggers should disclose that the book they are reviewing is an ARC or free copy from publisher/author.

That’s ridiculous.

Like MJ Rose said in her post (link above), I just can’t see someone selling out for USD$23.95.

So that makes the disclosure unnecessary.

I do mention in my reviews that a book was free or is an ARC.

But this is my blog, a little part of the internet that belongs to me. I RULE here. It feels right to me, so I choose to do it.

I do not expect that other reviewers follow suit. It freaking amazes me that there is someone who does!

4 Responses to “Full Disclosure?”


  1. November 16, 2006 at 6:18 pm

    I saw that the other day and have a blog post about it. I dunno what to think. I honestly never gave any thought to whether the book I was reading was from the publisher or not. :)

  2. November 17, 2006 at 4:21 pm

    It’s ridiculous to assume that a reviewer’s gonna sell out for $20 or so. I guess Kim’s principles can be bought for so little, which why she’s worried about others doing the same.

  3. November 17, 2006 at 4:26 pm

    Jane, I never think “But so-and-so gave me this book” when I’m reading a book either!

    Angelle, you don’t pull your punches, do you? LOL. But I think you’re right. :)

  4. November 17, 2006 at 7:48 pm

    I am a reviewer (and a writer and many other things LOL) and I have a blog BUT I am also a member of RIO (Reviewers International Organization) so I assume people know that the books I am reviewing are arc’s or sent from the publisher. I review for a couple of different sites too so maybe that’s different from what Kim is talking about. Is she talking about your average joe book reader who also blogs about what she reads?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

